Steemit Manifesto

in #manifesto8 years ago (edited)

Rules of engagement for a reproducable, consistently constructive behaviour on STEEMIT.

#1 Respect

Give posts a chance, vote

#2 Read more than you write

You don't have more to say than the rest of STEEMIT

#3 Reply

A post that has no comments is worthless    

#4 Follow

Respect

#5 Create ...

what's missing

...

I'm frustrated that nobody reads my blog and so are you.
The way it is now, only a few win.
And it's not us.

Would this be a good code to STEEM by ?


(Picture: My own HQ MS Paint OC)

Please comment

Have a great day !

felixxx

Sort:  

"A post that has no comments is worthless"

I don't think that's necessarily true. Some issues may have lot of debate, others not so much - but it doesn't mean the value of a post is correlated with the comments. Perhaps it would need rephrasing?

I'm open to suggestions.
For me personally, an uncommented post is no different than watching TV, but STEEMIT is ment as a social medium.
Yet: Obviously, the value of a post isn't proportional to the count of comments on it.

I would give it a positive spin so to speak, in terms of comments = enrichment of content.

"If you find a post that you like, a point you disagree - comment freely. Discussion enriches the original content". Something of that nature.

Would that be a good code to steem by, or would it encourage spam ?

Then again - If you don't comment, you can't get voted on, but only curate.

I'm gonna leave it for now.
I agree that it's not perfect.

I'm not native english btw - sorry if i write a bit strange sometimes

I'm not native either, so some times my expressions are suboptimal as well. Don't worry.

As for the question, I don't know - low quality comments won't get upvotes anyway, so spammers would quit that after a while.

For me personally, an uncommented post is no different than watching TV, but STEEMIT is ment as a social medium.

Exactly.

GOLDEN RULE: the value of social network is not the content, but rather the network.

Yet: Obviously, the value of a post isn't proportional to the count of comments on it.

No but it is proportional to something else about comments ;)

Remember I wrote else where I am working on solutions to everything that is broken about Steem.

Maybe it's not an algorithm that needs to be fixed.
Maybe steemit will already reward social behaviour in the long run.

An analysis tool to figure out if somebody acted selfish ( cashing in big, but not engaging in the community, not voting ) would be of great help.

I simply unfollow all users, that don't vote on anything.
That list is growing.
I don't need an algorithm for that.

In actual fact, I comment more than I posts.
I get paid for them.
Bless all that paid me 🍸🍸🍸

Same here.
My own posts made only cents.

Thanks STEEMIT :)

Thanks @felixxx @alexgr
See what I mean.
Bless them all again

I know what you're saying

I RESPECT your effort to write posts like this, and READ YOUR POSTS more than I write my own, so this is my REPLY to you, because I FOLLOW you, and I appreciate things that you CREATE.

Should I add something like:

Don't leave a comment and not come back to it ?

By their fruit you will recognize them

Where's the respect ?

I've written some stories as well. No up ticks and now comments. So i decided to boost my site by asking others to follow and I follow them.

#2 Read more than you write
You don't have more to say than the rest of STEEMIT

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64886.88
ETH 3516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37