ManifestChallenge, Day 7 - Running in Sherwood to the top of the Swing RocksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #manifestchallenge7 years ago (edited)

On Day 5 I promised I'm going for a run at least once a week. So here I am reporting of my progress as promised.

Planning my running route didn't require much extra effort because my destination was clear: Keinukallio, the "Swing Rock", in the Kerava city where I live. 4 kilometers there and the same distance back.


"Not so fast!"


Right, I forgot the running stairs which lead to the top of the "Swing Rock". A total of 40 meters by height and a 261 steps. I'll admit they got the best of me when I attacked to them nonstop continuation for the 4 kilometers I initially ran there and I had to slow down to walking as my lungs felt like burning.

The "legendary" sign of 'Sherwood', a nickname for the Kerava city (spoiler: this is not the original Sherwood in Middle-England).

Some interesting trivia about the sign:

  • The 2-meter long plywood letters were mounted in 2015 some December night by an anonymous street artist group calling themselves as "Happy Fellows".
  • It was constructed without permission but the people of Kerava loved it so much that the city government decided to let it remain, and they even lit it up with spot lights!
  • The group describes themselves as "having a will to do things that aren't necessary but are still seen valuable".
  • Even if acted without a permission they claim to "work in a very harmless way".

Back to stairs:

I returned and started over.

131st stair - You're halfway there!

And this time I ran them up nonstop like Rocky Balboa ever.

261st stair - Ugh, you did it!


261 steps might not sound like a lot but trust me, it's more than enough to get your heart pumping.

The "Swing Rock" used to be an abandoned ski center but a couple years backwards the running stairs were built on it. And I gotta say it was a successful investment for the stairs are in a very active use on daily basis.

A night view into the city.

The Tuesday night was already late so I wanted to return there to take a few pictures from the top today when it was still light.

The same angle as above but during day. On the right you may spot some of the Eastern suburban are of Kerava.

View to the right.
In the distance you can see field where the Keinukallio disc golf track starts with a trilogy of arguably the most challenging fairways of the track featuring a Par 5 fairway with a length of 250 meters.

On the front right next to the little sign you can see the 17th and the highest starting tee of a fairway in the track. I've seen couple of my friends shooting some crazy throws sending the disc literally above the trees ahead.

Another 90 degree turn to right and we can see the way we came here. The green to yellow spectrum of woods continue as far as the eye can see.

Until next time!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Stairs workout is the perfect training for strength development!
Good run and pics!

Oh, yes! Thank you for your comment!

My thighs are quivering at the thought of those stairs!

Well done! applause, applause

Haha, no wonder because running those up is like a small bravery.

Beautiful surroundings and pictures. I hope you are enjoying yourself! I don't go onto Steemit as much but when I do, I try to check in on everybody. Still trying to get well. Take care!

It's surprising how close one has such views around here. Hope you get better! And don't take any extra pressure trying to keep up with me :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59834.01
ETH 2665.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46