My Malaysian Meet-Up #1: @DanielDoughtysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #malaysia6 years ago

One of the best things about Steemit simply HAS to be its community.

I saw plenty of this at Steemfest 3 in Krakow, which I documented at the time.

As a relative newbie to the Steemit community, and someone who’s trying to combine my love of travel with my wish to help others (by giving away 50% of my Steem at the end of 2019), it’s been a priority of mine to try connect with fellow Steemians on my trip around the world.

Having enjoyed the wonderful sights of Singapore, but not having the time to meet up with any locals, I was keen to correct this in my time here in Malaysia.

JB was good fun, and having spontaneously (this morning!) decided to fly over to Borneo, I was fortunate enough to meet up this evening with @DanielDoughty here in Kota Kinabalu.

Daniel is an incredibly inspiring man, and hugely passionate about the @teammalaysia community that he’s a part of.

We talked everything from our humble beginnings on Steemit (or in my case, my still humble but hopefully growing @goodwithtravels project), right the way through to our ambitions for the platform, the strength of the Malaysian community and more.

Eating a delicious roti and trying local tea, I couldn’t believe my luck that I was enjoying local delicacies with a local Steemit legend only hours after even deciding to make my way to this part of the country.

Thank you Daniel for your kind hospitality, the passionate conversation and indeed some fantastic tips for the rest of my travels across Sabah and beyond.

If you’re Malaysian, or living here, get in touch! I’d love to hear from you and organise a similar meetup.

Malaysia really is turning into one of my favourite countries yet.

Peace,

Franck / @goodwithtravels

Ps don’t forget to give @danieldoughty and @teammalaysia a follow!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Welcome to the Borneo @goodwithtravels! I hope you enjoy your stay here.

Too bad we can't meet last night. Hope to see you before you're flying back.

Thanks for your kind words @viverridae; that’s no problem and I’m sure we will meet another time!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Too bad last night I have something to do and not able to join. Enjoy the rest of your time in Kk.. enjoy the beautiful beach and mountain.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=goodwithtravels
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-malaysian-meetup-1-danieldoughty-0x9l7qhv


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @goodwithtravels! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello, @goodwithtravels. Your post has been manually curated by Altruistic community and has been resteem.

To get more support from Altruistic, you may use the community tag #altruistic-steem.

If you have any suggestion, wants to know more about us, or wants to appear as a guest author and or curator, join us on the discord community server.

Keep blogging!

Nice to meet you bro. Hace fun and be safe in your travel adventures

Welcome to North Borneo, hopefully you'll have a great time here @goodwithtravels

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71