Workflow 100x | A preliminary, experiential Digitakt review

in #making-music5 years ago (edited)

Lately I've been having amazing sessions with some good friends making music and there has been an amazing shift. Where we used to always tweak everything with interconnected DAW-systems, working with mouse and computer screens, we have since started moving more in the direction of analogue-type workflows where results are immediate and we never seem to run into the danger of overcomplicating things.

When in DAWs there are a million ways to get lost along the way. There are technical hurdles such as the syncing of the system BPMs through midi cables that always mess up the most intricate delay-efforts, things stop working sometimes and it feels tedious and overall not barrier-free at all. And there are the hurdles that come with the option of making every little aspect incredibly elaborate and convoluded.

But ever since I got my Digitakt this has all changed.

Whenever we sit down to do a music session together I notice with a great smile after 2 minutes that I am already completely immersed in what we are creating. Cigarettes burn down without being smoked, the fire in the stove goes out before we even realize it and there is utter silence in the room as everyone is completely captivated by the interrelation of the parts and loops we are each creating on the spot, feeding off one another in an ever-growing and increasingly breathtaking composition.

There is a hefty dose of chaos involved as well. Where I used to tweak parameters in my DAW without end until the magic of the moment had been lost completely I now leave many results up to... chance. Trusting that if I tweak further I will eventually stumble upon something amazing, even if it is rather far from my original idea.

I always dug workflow-improving ways of working, styles of creating music that don't get stuck and that continue to feel fresh even after many hours of work.

But man, what the Digitakt has done for my level of bliss in music-making is hard to describe.

I will do my best to finish some of the tracks we have composed over the last few sessions but to any devoted musician out there looking to build beats, to break through workflow hurdles or to recover his original fascination with music I cannot recommend the Elektron Digitakt enough.

It's one of those products that I would actually start promoting as an affiliate. Since I am not there yet though and I am burning with passion for what this little magic box has given me as a musician I just wanted to let you all know to check it out if you are still looking for that magic spark in your workflow.

Thanks Elektron <3


Img srcs:

synthtopia.com
youtube.com


Thanks for stopping by <3

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.28
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62