You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why it's fairly impossible to beat @lynncoyle1 in the curation league

in #makesteemitgreatagain6 years ago (edited)

I don't know exactly what you are implying at the end there @crypto-conom1st, but I can tell you that I'm positive that @lynncoyle1 spends more than 40 hrs a week on steemit. If you know anything about her, she likes to win and she is an wonderful person too. She is also not doing this for the 3 steem prize at the end, Lynn is someone that truly cares about people. And she loves to interact and have fun with her friends like me!

I can tell you that I too probably spend around 70 hrs a week here, and I give away my prize I win every week. Not everyone does this for the money or treat it as a job. I make more money in a day at my real job than I have made here in over 3 months. I do it as I care about the people I have come to know and to help make this place a good support system for real people with good hearts.

I love your analysis and don't necessarily think you are trying to insinuate anything bad about Lynn, but your last line seems to imply you think something negative (which I think you might not have meant)... You might want to correct it or elaborate a bit as it can be taken negatively rather easily!

Have a wonderful day!

Sort:  

@davemccoy,
Thanks for your honest a good reply!
First of all I think everyone in the curation league is doing very good things for Steemit. And I think some or all of these people should get a bigger share from the reward pool. As it looks unfair that other people writing crappy posts get higher financial rewards because the use paid upvote bots.

The whole story is meant about analyzing and number crunching. So it should never be taken personal. But I understand it can be easily seen like that.

My last sentence is hinting towards building a bot that automatically posts comments. Then you just write a 250 character comment ("great post! Keep up the good work! I wonder where you get your inspiration, etc, etc) and let the bot post that comment 1,000+ times.

I prefer to keep my open end. However if you still think I should change it, let me know.
And if @lynncoile1 thinks I need to change it, I will. Without any discussion. So later today I contact her to ask if she read this.

No that is cool... I think it was good just to clarify... I didn't think it was anything bad, but I know there are many that might've jumped to a possible negative conclusion... I know that you know Lynn doesn't post those kind of spam comments, but I wasn't sure what you were referring to... So this reply clears it up perfectly!

Frankly, like I told @simplymike I like you and think you do a great job. So I didn't want anyone to jump to any negative conclusions! :P

And btw, I think you are pretty dead on right about the amount of time it takes... I think Glen concurred with me about the 70 hrs and that is a decent rule of thumb as I did that hard for about 2 or 3 weeks. Was it worth it? Monetarily no.. But for an accomplishment of really engaging a lot of people and making good friends yes!

This was a good article and give it no further worry! :D

Here's a newbie nickel for writing a nice article and for taking the time to care what I was trying to clarify! You are a good one @crypto-econom1st :) ... Thank you!

Congratulations, this newbie nickel is sponsored by #newbieresteemday this week!

red-diamond.gif

nrd giphy good.gif

#newbieresteemday always recommends our sponsors!

What is precisely a newbie nickel?

It is the 0.05 upvote that I give people when I want to make a point

The idea behind it was to get people's attention. It was named by @doctorcrypto ... I received some decent delegations from a contest someone submitted me to, so I used the newbie nickel as something to give back some of that gift. ... Its nothing official, just something I like to do and help people earn a little when I can afford to give the nickel upvote!

Lol, I should have known... :0)
We had been talking about it earlier...

You got a 100.00% upvote from @bearwards courtesy of @davemccoy!

70 hrs a week! Time to enjoy the fresh air. Spring is here.

I must admit I’m also spending like 60 or 70 hours a week here.
But I’m an unemployed handicapped person who has to lie down all day, so I’ve got a good excuse - lol ;0P

Understandable, you're not even supposed to walk around. Did you ever finish that sevendayb&w challenge I tagged you on? I remember you stumbling around cautiously (when you shouldn't have) to take pictures of your cat and wall hanging. Then you got hacked, and I think it was after that point that I simply could not catch up with all the ginabot notifications.

I did manage to finish it. Did the first two before the hack, then resumed three days later with the rest. :0)

That's the competitor in you. ;)

Sorry to hear that. But it looks like you are making something out of it?!?

Let's hope Steemit becomes and stay a really nice social media platform.

haha.. just got back from my walk... kids playing baseball... I will still find a way for 60 though ;)

Addicts! Or should I say peeps with competitive streaks?

That means all of you @davemccoy, @lynncoyle1 and @simplymike. Might as well throw @fullcoverbetting in the mix now since he is up there in league 2.

Thank goodness I am no longer in the path..you guys are commenting forces to reckon!

Did the walk remind you of the good ol' days Dave? Or future days to come?

haha... I it did remind me of the good ole days but my achy body wondered how kids can run around so much and not get tired! :P

I stated the only other possibility in my comment: take out @lynncoyle1 - lol

I’ve read your comment,@davemccoy, and I read @beeyou’s, and I honestly don’t see where you both get the feeling @crypto-econom1st is talking about @lynncoyle1 in a negative way...
He’s just analyzing the facts, ‘cos he likes to play with numbers.
IMHO, I take this article as an expression of admiration of what she is doing. (Please correct me if I’m wrong, @crypto-econom1st)

@crypto-econom1st is investigating the importance of posting versus commenting, and does so in a statistical way. It’s just about facts (unless he agrees with me that the only solution is to take out @lynncoyle1 - lol)

I thought it was pretty amusing, and never detected any negativity.
However, I am curious about how he would finish that last sentence... maybe he’s got some special tricks up his sleeve... lol

I am curious about how he would finish that last sentence.

So am I!

Did you find and read my idea in the comments?

I think you are right and that is why I said it could be taken in a way that he didn't mean. I try to read how people write things and if it could be interpreted that he was saying something negative, I was merely trying to help him clarify his last thought. He of course was being funny, but when there is a joke sometimes its best to know the punch line (especially if it could be a compliment or a put down).

I like @crypto-econom1st and of course @lynncoyle1 and that's exactly why I was trying to help the end be a little more clear so that no one would take it the wrong way!

I

From the little I know from @crypto-econom1st he probably has a plan. He’s been analyzing all this, and I wouldn’t be surprised if he would have figured out a way.
Remember, he managed to be king of curation for I don’t know how many weeks in a row with only 15SP...

He’s thinking of strategies, and that’s what we all lack.
And from a marketing perspective: he got us to interact about what he would mean with that last sentence. Lol
I think it was an excellent marketing move.

@davemccoy, do you really think he meant something bad with it? All the people that do, are just fools (please, @crypto-econom1st, don’t let me be the fool here)
I can’t imagine how you could take this the wrong way...
The only possible end of that sentence is ‘to take down @lynncoyle1’, and we all know that would be absurd...

No I don't think he meant anything bad... lol ... I think you are trying to get a heads start on Ashers league this week... Wow, you are making some very big comments now... Sneaking up on us??? Hmmm :P

Just happy that some people are awake and it is a real conversation. I’ll never make it to the top with my ‘one-thumb-typing’ - lol
Normally, I’m just commenting into an empty space, then go to sleep and read the answers in the morning...

hehe.. if you are typing with one thumb, you really are superwoman! Wow, that is awesome @simplymike... I think you will be the first to break 300,000 characters... I am predicting it now! ;)

Remember everyone I said that :D

I’ve made a screenshot :0)

good... lol ... Don't lose it... :) I will be looking for that screenshot soon I'm sure :P

It looks like you know me quite well. My last sentence was indeed meant to trigger you guys to react. First to see what you think I'm thinking. But also to provide me some input to see if I can create some kind of strategy.

If you like to know anything about me, just ask!
Cause I don't believe in privacy. And therefore I might as well tell you everything by myself.

I think you are right and that is why I said it could be taken in a way that he didn't mean. I try to read how people write things and if it could be interpreted that he was saying something negative, I was merely trying to help him clarify his last thought. He of course was being funny, but when there is a joke sometimes its best to know the punch line (especially if it could be a compliment or a put down).

I just wanted to keep any drama from happening by being a letting him know it could be taken both ways. That's all ;)

I understand, and I like the way you care. We’ve had enough drama for this month - still, I don’t see how anyone can take this the wrong way. You’re too concerned, @davemccoy. If other people are too ... I can’t say this out loud without offending anyone, let’s say that a 5 year old could get this.
But unfortunately, men can really be like 5- year olds, they just have more expensive toys ;0P

And by the way, a little controversy can be a good thing. Look at the sharkschool posts... everyone can take this the wrong way, still he has many fans..,

Earlier this week the flagger did not only take away the flag, but also started following me. Controvery is the greatest marketing trick in the world- (except for your flattery, off course ;0)

LOL, that must have been Dave's trick all along..flattery. ;)

Of course. Never read @spirituamax’ posts about marketing? Flattery is one of the most effective tricks in the book, together with ‘know your customer’. Never noticed how @davemccoy always knows everything about others? ‘How’s your sister doing’, ‘have you passed your exam?
I suspect him of keeping files about everyone.
But for the flattery, he has perfected it. And it works... always.
He’s a good marketer, because you’re not aware he is one - lol
Sorry @davemccoy, for revealing your secret tactics.
Sometimes I find myself copying his behaviour(ssst, don’t tell him that), using words like ‘charming’ and stuff. And I mean it when I say it, but it is just monkey say monkey do - lol

Oh, Boy McCoy is many of things. COO, politician, Prince of Steemit as you once called him. Even smylie2005 and pretty.dorky calls him Boy McCoy, and they're relatively new to the scene! He was almost crowned with Bad Boy McCoy, but I put a stop to that one. Not nearly bad enough. ;)

He charmed his way into our lives that's for sure!

I haven't stopped by spiritualmax's blog in a while, will have to do so. Marketing seems to be a big thing on here. I really should put my marketing degree to some use.

It was Prince Charming of SteemIt, if I remember correctly.
Actually, marketing is really undervalued here in SteemIt. That’s a bit of a shame, but it is what it is. (It’sthe only thing I know a bit about, but not a lot of people are interested. I see it growing however. The less people earn here on SteemIt, the bigger the need to look further than the platform alone).
I once bumped into @spiritualmax’s posts about marketing he wrote last year and was really impressed. The guy knows what he’s talking about.,

What happened earlier this week? Where can I read that?

Too complicated to explain and believe me, you simply don’t want to know...

See my reply to @davemccoy a little above this reply.

Take out @lynncoile1 is no serious option. But I hope it makes everyone smile like it did me 😀

I think when if I would succeed to come up with an other trick then building a bot, most people would not mind if I paid the trick once. Just to see if the theory would be practically working. However at this moment I really don't know something that wouldn't cost me 10+ hours.

I did notice a couple of copy/paste messages from you last week, but I decided to let them slide and not do a full investigation as you didn't make the top 10.

If anyone is found to be botting or copy/pasting repeat messages, they will be excluded.

Very well noticed.
Did you also notice that not all of them were an exact copy? The difference was really, really small.

And even that took me like 1 hour to do so. So to get like a 95% chance to win the league I need to spend at least 5-6 hours. That's why I basically let go of that idea.
I know I could double the comment legth to halve this time to about 3 hours. But that's still way to much effort.

I was just thinking of something else. Do you think you will always find such a trick?

In case I ever win the 2nd league or make it into the top10. Please ask me first how I won it? And if you should pay out the prize?
Can you please do that?

Some people I watch more closely than others based on what the interactions have been about in the past :P

I also hope the community keeps a watchful eye on anyone who seeks to gain without the effort.

I don't think i'll need to ask :)

Those got me a few nice upvotes 😀 just kidding of course.

I actually expected to make some new friends. But I tracked who started following me and that was kind of disappointing. Also I expected some newbie questions, but I basically didn't get any.

I changed my mind about trying something to win the 2nd league. Although I do have an idea now how to do this. I don't think it's a good thing is you need to track down Steemit criminals in your curation league. You have better things to spend your time on.

The comments I checked were just too generic - a comment should show acknowledgement that the post was read.

Thanks for not giving me more work to do :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58793.48
ETH 2508.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44