IFC S1 R36 entry - Helping @irvinesimages

in #makesteemitgreat-again6 years ago (edited)


Image by @yeszuzia

I don't post as much these days, but I always try to find opportunities to help the people that are helping the communities. And since @apolymask started the marketplace on the IFC Discord channel, I think his resources has been stretched even further so I do applaud him for all the effort keeping this wonderful corner of Steemit going.

When I first saw round 36 of the IFC I wasn't really sure what I could do to help, but since it was something that could really help @apolymask personally I thought I would give it a shot anyway.

Add to my following list

Firstly, I read through the post and seeing all the wonderful images taken by @irvinesimages and realizing that I was not even following this amazing photographer I had to add him to my list of followers.

Research on Photography

Now a while ago a friend of mine did some research on the photographers of Steemit and came up with some interesting findings. I know it was from some months back but I believe that the insights and trends are still valid so I want to share it with you here:

https://steemit.com/photographer/@johnnos01/steemit-user-research-photographers
https://steemit.com/photography/@johnnos01/steemit-photographer-user-research

I think this might give you some idea of the different types of photographers on Steemit and some factors that contribute to their success. It is a shame that my friend didn't get an opportunity to look further into this, but I know that there are also some good research from the #blockchainbi group that looks into tags and their usage so this is one area that can help gain more attention to the posts and gain greater return for your posts.

https://steemit.com/stats/@eroche/deep-dive-of-steemit-tags

Understand your followers

You can also make use of the many tools developed by people to understand the people who vote for you and contribute to the payouts, such as the Steem Analytics tool here:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@eroche/steem-analytics-update-voting-history-and-more-stats
https://steemit.com/steemdev/@steemreports/quick-account-information-page

Seek promoters and influencers

There are also some people who are very active and engage with their fellow Steemians. I guess you can think of these as the promoters and influencers on Steemit (who are not necessarily whales) but can help you gain followers and provide exposure to your work:
https://steemit.com/curation/@paulag/league-of-excellence-and-curation-leagues-week-6

Participate in photography contests

One thing that is probably more obvious are the photography contests on Steemit, and I can see that there is already some participation in the popular photography contests like the 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge and ColorChallenge so I can't add much more to it other than maybe look into some of the other photography contests on @artz's list:
https://steemit.com/contest/@artz/steemit-contest-compilation-02-04-08-04-win-sbd-steem-upvotes-and-other-prizes

Use other Steem related applications focused on photography

I know that many photographers have looked into steepshot.io to make posting easier and target people who are more interested in photography:
https://steemit.com/@steepshot

I think zappl also seems to be quite popular because of the short text format that makes many of the posts more image focused as well:
https://steemit.com/@zappl

Join blockchain based community for photographers

I introduced my photography friends to BeScouted (https://www.bescouted.com/) because it is a community focused on photographers and what they do, and there are probably more out there:
https://steemit.com/@bescouted

Discord groups

I don't know any specifically dedicated to photography, but some of the art based ones will have a section for photography as well.

Steem Artists: https://discord.gg/MRXf6r
iTalent: https://discord.gg/77tJYJ

Sort:  

Steemit they say is a community, what better way to grow than finding your niche within the community and have a section you can call home. I'm certain your links will go a long way in helping him grow on Steemit.

You have my vote for this round.

You don't post very often, but the content and comments are always excellent and thoughtful when you do. Glad to see that you are dropping by the IFC. Who are you tipping in the NBA final?

Golden state warriors 😂😂😂

Thanks for the nice words.

If anyone can stop Le Bron, it would be Steph and GSW :D I hope it goes down to the wire in Game 7!

LeBron is the goat, game 7 will be tough cause LeBron will do everything to win the cavs another title.

Hopefully GSW have learnt their lessons from the past - it would have been great to see both Rockets and GSW at full strength but that's sports. Personally I still think a great team is going to do better than a great player, and GSW has great players and a great team!

i am a vote post have you...please upvote have me

HI @permatasari, I am happy to take a look at your posts but I don't understand the content :(

There are many groups where you can tag to get more views and promote your work so if you have some content in English then I can help find the right people and groups :)

This is great! Thanks so much! I need a good amount of time to properly go through it all and see what will help him and then leave a more detailed comment after I do, but.. I wanted to just leave a quick comment right now and I definitely think there's some useful tips and advice you shared there! I think this will be a great help. I appreciate it plush! :) Also glad you gave him a follow, if you like photography I'm sure you're in for a treat. ._.

I know that there are some pretty amazing entries for the World's Continent Photo contest and the ColorChallenge so his work is definitely very high quality. Depending on what his interests are it is also worth considering writing about his images or perhaps sharing some tips and ideas on photography with the rest of the community.

I think my dad just won one of those actually. He's been entering a few of the contests which I think is good. Though I don't think he's doing the colorchallenge.. I'll have to look into that one and see if it'll be a good one for him. :) Also yeah! I agree in regards to having him write up some tips and stuff like that, I think that's a great idea. He does have muscular dystrophy though so he can't type up a lot, but he does type up some words to go with his images and I think he would probably be up for writing some things to help other photographers. I've been trying to encourage him to think of other ways to post other than just his photography and that's a good one. Plus I think he would like to help others learn too!

Yes, I saw that he had won one of the World's Continent Photo contest which was very impressive! The Color Challenge is very popular but really good for getting to know other photographers. However, I think BeScouted is up there in terms of the quality of the photography work and if I come across other useful contacts or resources I'll let you know :)

I don't post as much these days, but I always try to find opportunities to help the people that are helping the communities.

And you do a wonderful job of it! A super hero ninja people connecter. :D

Is the same person who does the Color Challenge the one who does the
7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge? I think my dad might be interested in doing the color one!

Man you really shared a bunch of good info in this post. And yeah it's a bummer your friend didn't get to do more and didn't get more feedback on his efforts. Took me a while but I went through pretty much all the info your shared and I hope my father went through it on his end as well, there's some useful information here. Some we were already aware of, like the tags and some of the contests, but.. Definitely some good info there. I think he might be interested in the timsaid photo contest, I plan on bringing that one to his attention especially.

In regards to @bescouted, how would you suggest my father approach that? Sign up on the webpage or go to their steemit page or..?

And in the "Seek promoters and influencers" I'm a lil confused, I went to the link and it looks like a curation contest? Or am I missing something..?

Anyways.. Thanks for the awesome entry. You did a great job and were very helpful. :)

I am not a photographer, but I think signing up on the webpage and following the steemit page will help you connect with people that might be doing similar things or looking for photographers of certain skillsets.

In the "Seek promoters and influencers" section, the curation league lists people who go around connecting and engaging people as demonstrated by the amount of upvotes, comments and posts that they make, as well as the resteems and curation that they do. This will allow your work to be promoted to a wider audience and have people keep you in mind for opportunities when they come up, whether it is a competition or a gig.

That's all I am aware of without being a photographer myself and trying out all those things myself, so hopefully some of it is helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67