IFC - S1 : R30 entry - The Most Important Issue


Image by @yeszuzia

After not being able to submit entries in the last few rounds, I am glad that this round has something that I can contribute to and one that will produce some interesting reading:
https://steemit.com/contest/@apolymask/ifc-s1-r30-most-important-issue

I think this is a great contest for people to raise concerns and come up with ideas to tackle some serious issues so get involved in the conversation by creating a post of your own or join in the discussion in the comments section. Also, if you know someone who is passionate about the issues that has been raised, why not connect with them so you can work towards finding a solution!

The issue I want to raise is SUSTAINABILITY

I think this is topic applies not just to the world we live in today, but it is also quite relevant to Steemit. I want to break down the issue of sustainability down to some key concepts that will hopefully point to some solutions.

  1. Fostering a sustainable environment - it is important to maintain the right balance if you want to be sustainable. This means having a vision that allows for everything to exist in harmony in the long term so that valuable or critical resources are not exhausted and that there is enough for everyone. In the real world we are talking about fresh water, clean air and quality food plus shelter, and on Steemit we are talking about communities and groups that support and contribute to the value of the platform.

  2. Creating a sustainable mindset - the role of education can never be underestimated in a long term sustainable future, because it should be in the hearts and minds of both the young and old so that it is not lost or diluted in subsequent generations. In the real world we are talking about equality and inclusiveness in the way we teach people to value others and the environment, and on Steemit we are talking about contributing quality content and not robbing the platform of its value by plagiarising or spamming posts.

  3. Promoting sustainable ideas - with the right environment in mind and the correct mindset, the next step to take is to come up with some good initiatives and put them into action. Only by taking action in what we believe in can we start becoming the change we want and influence other people to do the same as well. In the real world we have seen how people campaign and rally around causes that they believe in, and on Steemit we have some great contest like the @ifc and it is also incubating ideas for the way we can interact with each other in the future.

I would like to think that by doing my little bit on Steemit my actions will also have some impact on the real world, so I will continue to support communities and groups that are making a real difference to the Steemians, and wherever possible try to create posts that contribute knowledge or new ideas and upvote those that do that. Lastly, I would like to work with people who come up with great ideas and help them grow the impact of their initiative on Steemit but also in the real world.

Sort:  

Creating a sustainable mindset

I like that phrase, and I think it makes a great slogan. Sometime a slogan can go a long long way, and getting a group, however big or small to think of sustainability is not an easy thing to do.

No community can really stand alone on its own. They are always going to need the support of other communities, but when people hear the term sustainability, all they can really think of is what they are going to have to give up. They think it means sacrifice, not sacred life. Sustainability does not mean doing with out, but you will have a hard time convincing people of that.

It's interesting how this term it often seen as having to give something up as you say, but that's perhaps a reflection of how we live in the modern age. If you look at indigenous cultures from around they world they seem to have a much more harmonious relationship with their environment. Not sure what we have to do as a society to get back to that way of living...

Very good! Both the real world and steemit are very alike in certain ways. Just like how some people will milk the social system or how others here will rob the platform.

Most people I think don’t have the vision to look at the bigger picture and only looking at the “now” and unfortunately that’s causing a big problem in finding sustainability.

I truly hope this platform is sustainable for the long run as I think for the most part it can work!

I guess it is up to us to try and make it sustainable, and I do think the ifc is a great starting point to test out new ideas :)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

@plushzilla i love this! Community building seems to be your passion here and I'm sure in your own local community as well! I'm so glad you have been such a helpful, caring person! These type of posts show me that the world isn't all bad, it's truly mostly good I'm seeing this more and more!! Thank you!

Somehow local community building is more difficult because it is hard to find so many like-minded people in a small geographical area, but I guess you could say that with so many people online there are other difficulties as well. I am many trying to reciprocate the kindness and support I have received from day one on Steemit, and I hope that this will also help attract the right people to our community as it grows :)

It really is hard to find like minded individuals within local community but I've found if we dig deep enough they are out there! So glad you are a part of this ever growing community on steemit!!!

Great topic! An important one too that if we don't respect could lead to our extinction. In both the virtual world on steemit and the real world. Hopefully through the IFC we can help spread information and ideas like the ones you presented more. I think like you mentioned in your post that communities like this one are a good way to help do such things and quests like this one can help in ways even if we're not sure how, but perhaps by someone new being exposed to information that then goes out and tries to do something about it. Once again whether on steemit or the real world. At the very least, we can help bring awareness to important issues and I think that in and of itself is a really important and valuable thing. :)

Also I like what you said at the end there about wanting to work with people who have great ideas and helping them both on steemit and the real world! That's one thing I've really come to appreciate and admire about you. :) You're great and connecting with a lot of different kinds of interesting people and then helping them connect with each other as well! You're almost like a social media platform yourself, lol. A microcosm/macrocosm as above so below sort of thing, heh.. I'm sort of kidding.. Sort of serious. :) Thanks for the great entry! :D

I do worry about spreading myself a little bit thin sometimes... as indicated by my participation in the IFC :p

Actually it is good to push myself into things I am less comfortable with when there is a great community that is very supportive, but some of the things like poetry and photography I just struggle too much with :D

Since nothing came up on my mind about dreams (I don't think I've even had many lately), I just stuck to this round which is a great contest!

I feel similar sometimes! It can be a bit alarming at times, heh.. But I have a feeling it'll work out in the end when I follow my heart. And if not, at least I followed my heart! :) That's a bummer you're not dreaming much lately, I went through phases like that where I didn't dream much in a long time, but lately I've been getting back into it and I enjoy it! I think there's secrets to be unlocked in the dream world as well, though.. It's tough finding such! And.. We're happy to have you whenever you feel like it! I think I would be similar, some rounds I wouldn't do very good at, but maybe some day I'll get to play myself and try it out. :D

Great entry! I believe sustainability is extremely important! You got my vote!! Good luck!!!

Thanks! I am looking forward to the conclusion of the first season of IFC :) We've come a long way since the beginning of the contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58183.32
ETH 2475.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38