Evolution of education systems - can Steemit be the first Blockchain Based Education Platform?

If we look at the changes to the education system since the Internet and iPad marched into the school curriculum and online learning open the door of the library to the entire world, it is surprising to see that despite the changes to the way we access information, these largely centralized education & learning platforms are still very much limiting in terms of HOW we learn and teach.

As @amariespeaks commented in one of my posts about the validity and relevance of IQ in our society today, there is very little value in assessing intelligence from a one-dimensional perspective because we are all different in our intelligence - that is, our unique and individual abilities to acquire and apply skills & knowledge:

So if the way we access information can be open and decentralized, and we can also find more than one way to use our intelligence, what about the way that we learn and teach from each other?

The blockchain offers some exciting possibilities and sites like bitdegree.org is one such example of trying to create a blockchain based education platform. I think that Steemit already has the membership and maturity to beat them to the race and come up with a network where we can exchange knowledge and skills both online and in the real world. There are already so many great teachers and people eager to learn, although some of the initiatives here like @steemgigs is not focused on education, there is already a proof of concept for exchanging values on Steemit - all we need to do is make it the exchange of knowledge and skills rather than performing a task (although you could argue that teaching someone is also a job).

Having read about @pennsif's idea of teaching Steemit courses to newcomers, I wonder if we should explore the idea of an informal education network that can support such activities further (I think this will also be exciting for @steemstem or @steemeducation to consider), and if so then I am interested in discussing this further with people that want to move forward on this idea.

Sort:  

I really like the concept of this. I would love to see this implemented.

Will have to talk to the people at @utopian-io about this one :)

Yesss! that was quick :-D you're amazing @plushzilla !
I hope this catches on! I'm excited to see what others have to say!

I'd love to see some of the amazing art creators involved in @slothicorn get involved - not only teach about digital design, etc. but also maybe a course on the importance of shared creative content or how sharing and building ideas together freely can revolutionize Steemit ?

I have seen lots of artists post videos and tutorials on their posts, but it would be amazing to connect with people and interact with them as part of the learning process. Guidance and training around sharing creative content from established artists and creatives here on Steemit would also be fantastic. Now I just have to figure out how to make something like this happen :)

yes, totally agree. It'd be nice to have an easy way to find what you want to learn about - like a way to group the "teaching posts together" maybe just a tag specific - or maybe pages dedicated to certain subjects... just ideas! lol

I am looking at the way steemgigs has been turned into a website from the Steemit and Discord posts, so perhaps this is a potential way to get things started. Good suggestion and keep any other ideas that you have coming :)

The world is changing, and although it is difficult for many to finish accepting the reality of the blockchain, the truth is that I believe many things possible, and @steemit mainly nourishes us day by day of diverse subjects, science, finance, photography, health, means which indirectly is a teaching platform and when there is a certain benefit it is possible to read many quality things, such as this one. Excellent and I'm really delighted with those two accounts that you named at the end @steemstem and @steemeducation.

To do my bit I can tell you that I will start to publish Health content (in the oral cavity) I am a dentist. And I hope to help many people with the most frequent concerns about it.
I love the initiative

Great, I will keep in you mind while I work out how to make something like this happen :)

Some of us (at least I do it) write lectures here for some time . I have a series on quantum mechanics and another one on particle physics. Both work very well in terms of questions, interactions, and fun. I think this initiative may be very good for the platform! We just need people to dedicate time to it (because it requires a looooot of time, if you want good courses).

I feel like the online courses don't provide the personalization required, and also there are many different ways to learn and teach so at some point human contact is still required, plus you might also refer someone to another person who can provide better instructions or explanations. I have read a few of your posts and I think something specifically dedicated to education on Steemit will be a great idea, so I will continue to do my research and gather support for such as cause :)

I agree we are missing the live interactions, but how do you want to implement that here?

We can already do this informally (as it is case with steemgigs) by having someone post a job and then be paid upon completion of the work (since people tend to do the right thing here). So it is really just about building an interface specifically for educational purposes so we can restrict the activities and interactions to those that are appropriate (and safe) for people of different ages and knowledge levels. I am thinking about how to pitch something like this to utopian.io to get funding/support, so any other thoughts or feedback (or resteem) for this post will help :)

Well certainly these days people need better educated, from simple to complex concepts, a lot seems lacking. The effects of our ineffectual education system are seen all over the place in society, from being easily swayed by logical fallacies to not even understanding what a FACT actually is, and the results of that alter the reality of the world in which we all must live.

Complexity of life keeps going up and we are beginning to become woefully unprepared for it. A better source for education is ... For the longer term progression of society, an absolute must.

Yes, as a former research scientist now working in IT I certainly see the symptoms of an education system that is failing to provide the true value of education. I do hope that we can collectively overcome this problem on steemit because we already have the people and resources :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47