The Steemtopia Network of Learning UPDATE - More fun and games!

in #makesteemitgreat-again6 years ago (edited)

The Steemtopia Network of Learning is happy to provide another update for Steemians that want to share their knowledge and skills in different areas of life to help other Steemians. SNL is also proud to partner with the #newbieresteemday initiative, @steemgigs, @steemfreelancers, @thesteemhouse, @steemfreepress and individuals who wish to share their knowledge and skills with the rest of the Steemit community.

First I want to share with you some of the exciting things I have been hearing and learning about this week...

News

It's all fun and games!

The #newbiegames is in its second week and I would like to thank all the people that are actively participating by creating and playing games. This week's game is a scavenger hunt created by @jorlauski:
https://steemit.com/newbieresteemday/@jorlauski/newbie-games-week-2-scavenger-hunt

There are some very good people behind this and it is all for the benefit of supporting new comers to the Steemit community, and this week we also have a contest sponsored by @earthnation and @steembasicincome:
https://steemit.com/earthnation/@newbiegames/earthnation-presents-newbiegames-jeopardy-where-every-valid-answer-is-a-winner

(Classical) Music Lovers Discord Channel

@bengy is someone who is very active on newbiegames but did you know that he has already created a group for music lovers on Discord?

Creating Voxel Art (for those who like to draw in a different way)

@wannaf shared with us a very useful tool called MagicaVoxel in a post with some nice designs:

I always wondered how these things were created, and now I know!

Reminders

A Magazine for Steemians

Don't forget to support The Steem Free Press in creating a Steem Magazine that will feature contributions from our talented writers, artists and creators:
https://steemit.com/steemfreepress/@steemfreepress/steem-free-press-requesting-submissions-for-feature-article-an-introduction-to-steemit

Brush up on Markup

While trying to create some games for the initiative, I had to brush up on my own post formatting and so I dound some good links that newbies might be interested in (if you know of more please let me know):

Wiki page for all things Steem related

If you find the FAQ pages for Steemit a little bit tough going, there is another good resource available without having to trawl through heaps o findividual posts at @steemcenterwiki:
https://steemit.com/@steemcenterwiki

The quest for a more positive Steemit

Something that I am very happy to hear about this week is @fulltimegeek's quest to make the Steemit community a much more positive experience for everyone, and our way to support it:
https://steemit.com/friendsofgondor/@friendsofgondor/amended-repost-of-friends-of-gondor-launch

A Steemit Makerspace

Some updates from @thatsweeneyguy who is establishing a makerspace for Steemians to collaborate and create:
https://steemit.com/steem/@thatsweeneyguy/a-steem-centric-makerspace-is-opening-soon-in-frankfort-ky-usa-invest-in-its-startup-and-receive-a-lifetime-portion-of-the

FINALLY,

Whether you are new to Steemit or an experienced Steemian, if you have a passion or genuine interest in sharing your knowledge and helping other Steemians out there, the Steemtopia Network of Learning is for you! Read about the initiative here:
https://steemit.com/makesteemitgreat-again/@plushzilla/the-steemtopia-network-of-learning-helping-steemians-to-achieve-success-together

The learning circles provided for people to list their interests/topics are as follows:

I will continue to update this table with people who have expressed interest in learning and sharing their knowledge in this network:

usernameTEACHINGLEARNINGCONTACT
@plushzillaSTEEM, LIFESTEEM, DIGITAL, LINGUISTICSDiscord (plushzilla #1634)
@mountainjewelNATURE: homesteading, permaculture, sustainability
@grow-proDIGITAL, NATURE/LIFE: homesteading, gardening, sustainability
@amariespeaksSPIRITUAL/LIFESTEEM, DIGITAL, TRADITIONAL, NATUREDiscord (amariespeaks#9425)
@cstrimelNATURE: environment, sustainability
@simplymikeSTEEMSTEEM

Do you know anyone who is a wealth of knowledge in any of these areas and would like to share their knowledge with other Steemians? Do you think there are other learning circles that should be added? Please let me know and I will feature them in future SNL posts :)

This is the list of people who I think are great teachers on various topics here on Steemit that I will be adding to with each post update:

LEARNING CIRCLETEACHERS
STEEM@pennsif, @davemccoy, @mudcat36, @markrmorrisjr, @heiditravels, @goldendawne, @paulag, @wilfredn, @kafkanarchy84
TRADITIONAL (Humanities & Arts)@jacinata.sevilla, @jungwatercolor, @yurche, @dissfordents, @jimdraws, @zombiedoll, @marty-arts, @malloryblythe, @alexandravart, @Ivya, @rambai, @sireh, @vaansteam, @bengy, @armadilloman, @leathertinker, @monicacope, @simgemngc, @alexandravart, @musicapoetica
TRADITIONAL (STEM)@magicmonk, @lemouth, @justtryme90, @suesa, @scienceangel, @simplifylife, @rocking-dave
DIGITAL@vermillionfox, @naydenova, @zomagic, @shoumi, @hiddenblade, @aurah, @wanaf
LINGUISTICS@wentong-syhhae, @techslut, @yekrats
SPIRITUAL/LIFE@mihail.tsvetkov, @edward.maesen, @enchantedspirit, @mindszai, @roselifecoach, @tifaong, @jac-e
NATURE/ECOSYS@earthnation, @ecoinstant, @eco-alex, @slhomestead, @mountainwashere, @trumpman, @amavi, @holothewise, @herpetologyguy, @wizardave


Image by @grow-pro, another fellow problem solver on the Steemit community :)

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention! I would suggest @musicapoetica as a good teacher for music and music history. Our director is starting to post soon, and he is a wealth of knowledge about the historical development of music, acting and dance

Great, I have update the list and followed for some good music reading :) The list of people in the Humanities & Arts section is getting pretty big, so I might have to split it up again :p

Wow! I am honored to be on among the people mentioned . Thank you so much!

There are so many talented people willing to share their skills and knowledge with other people. If there's something specific that you want to teach and learn I am happy to put you in the top table so people can know about it :)

Yay! I love seeing this list grow and grow !!
Resteemed !!.png

Thanks for your support as always! I would love to connect with more people who share knowledge in the spiritual and life coaching areas to add to the list. There are just so many artists that I feel like it is a little bit unbalanced at the moment, or maybe I need to get into other circles as well :)

When you get a good list going there are some interesting things you can do with it (not just for playing games) that will add value to the community!

@fibrefox yes, I would love to see more life/spiritual coaches come on board - maybe @meditationmann would be interested? Let's see if he chimes in now that I've summoned him ;-)

and you're very right there are many things we can do other than games to add value on here! It will catch on - just need to gain a bit more traction!

A list of people who are knowledgeable about things could definitely be handy for something like, the Information Finding Championship? :)

I am heading over to his profile to find out more, and would be happy to put him on the list as well.

yesss! good thinking! these two projects are perfect for eachother!

I think so too! But it does take a little bit of effort to get some traction :p

Thanks for mentioning @thesteemhouse project I'm building! Big things are coming, and we're about to sign paperwork on our new space!

It will be great for Steemit to have a physical presence, especially one that encourages creativity and collaboration!

Wow thanks for the mention!!! Fantastic post too. I found lots of new people to follow :)

That's great! I wanted to keep building the lists and maybe it will become a useful 'directory' on Steemit :) If you find any great teachers along the way please also let me know. If there are specific things you would like to teach and learn let me know and I'll update the list as well.

hey @fibrefox
Due to the overload of things that are going on on SteemIt, I never took the time to reply to one of your previous posts about the SNL, but I wanted to let you know i really like what you're doing.

Personally, like to share all new things I'm learning on SteemIt, so I'm writing tutorials on SteemIt regularly. I also have a couple more marketing tips up my sleeve, so I've been wondering how to be added to the list(s)?

Hi @simplymike, I know you have certainly been busy because I have seen your name pop up everywhere! Thanks for the support and I'd definitely like to add your name to the list.

All you have to do is tell me what you would like to teach and learn about here on Steemit, and I will put you in the categories accordingly. If it doesn't quite fit I'll probably create new ones :)

I’m trying to learn as much as I can about the Steemit platform, and try to share everything I’ve learned with my followers.

Great! I have updated the table with your details :)

I think you have a great list there, @plushzilla.
I was thinking... I noticed you had @markrmorrisjr on the list already, maybe you could add his @dolphinschool account too.
I thought his Dolphinschool Bootcamp was one of the best tutorials I’ve come across here on SteemIt (I hope to be able to get in one day), and if I got it right, he’s going to continue his SteemIt tutorials on the @dolphinschool account.

Yes, I put @markmorrisjr on the list because I thought the content on dolpinschool bootcamp was pretty good. I didn't know if he actually wanted to promote it so I only put the name down and not what he was teaching (but hopefully he will).

He moved @dolphinschool to a different account, because he was losing his regular followers by his dolphinschool posts and resteems, if I got it right.
He announced he would have another bootcamp after his current project to get a post on trending without paying for bots. That one is set to launch today, btw.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01