Zord was in a Band, and He Thought He Was Cool #makemesmile

in #makemesmile6 years ago

38507_450717866220_3116588_n.jpg

Photo taken by @victary

Yeaps, the photo above was just to lure you into this post. Hahaha, It's a pretty cool shot by my friend who's a professional photographer. But this was probably the only coolest moment I have ever been.


During my time in high school, there was a trend to form bands. Bands like Simple Plan, Blink 182 were the HITs that time and a lot of us probably got emo and thinking we can rebel after listening to 'I'm just a kid'.

...and life is a nightmare

Haha, to be a 'cool' band, YOU HAVE to practice in a garage because that's how most successful bands start out. You also need to have a oil stains on the garage floor so when you become famous, you get to tell the interviewer that you've been through hell with 'oil stains on the floor'. Tough life you know... tough life.

Well, I didn't have a garage so my band and I kinda practice in some of the weirdest places and alleys. Which is retarded I know but we thought we were COOL. Back then, we thought that by doing this, girls would swamp to us(when playing a Boys like Girls song) and push the bouncers that are hired to protect us. But nah.... it was just my friend, G and I.

46472_467605761220_6031524_n.jpg

Later on, G and I kinda found a really good vocalist and two girls who were just awesome friends to us. We were talking about how we could take this to the next level. Like be famous and all that.

Sigh...those were the days, so young

So, we started joining competition and honestly, we were just in it for pure fun. I mean that's what highschool kids do right? The vocalist I mentioned had a bright future in singing for her but G and I, we were just being 'cool'. After our first competition, we did what highschool kids who were hyped up about the event would've done. We formed a REALLY COOL BAND - The High-7

The name, The High-7 basically means there were 7 of us... and... we.... we are....

Okayyy... moving along, we formed this band called The High-7. We would gather in a friend's house to sing and do cover of songs. To even write our own songs and record. That time, the best handphone was a Sony Ericsson w810i so the video quality wasn't as good as the most basic smartphones out there today.

But I still thought G and I were cool. I would strum the guitar and G would rap whatever he wants. Literally whatever he wants... and we mash songs up.

46739_468358811220_1270560_n.jpg

This is G and I going all out freestyle. Hahaha, I seriously thought we were really cool back then. No lie! In a band, we had to be badass too, like go against the rules.

47307_468359391220_7119977_n.jpg

So we rebelled and stole some 1.5L softdrinks from the local store. These weren't even alcoholic!!!! And we felt pretty cool about it. I'm sorry, it will never happen again. Stealing is BAD ok? :D

45678_468361191220_2014331_n.jpg

So as a band, this was our first group photo together. I thought that it'll be cool that we took one of those jumpshot photos. The ones where you get like a silhouette of the person and a nice sunset background. Yea those kind.

levi-guzman-268866-unsplash.jpg

Photo taken from unsplash

Exactly what I wanted, silhouette and us jumping high up in the sky like a real cool band. Here's what happened.

47307_468359426220_5007702_n.jpg

47307_468359431220_2431090_n.jpg

Yea...noooo, we failed. we failed miserably and I even turned on the flash for my camera. Haha.


Well, the band was disbanded after a few months because of some internal conflict among the girls, but G and I were still believing that the band could work. We ended up forming a band called Budaddys.

Budaddys basically means Bringing Up Daddys. I don't even know how we got to this name but we thought it was cool. We used this band name during my uni years and we kinda influenced a housemate of mine to join us in singing cause we both sucked at it.

Thinking back now, it was pretty mean cause we kinda gave him false hope that he was the best singer ever just cause we wanted to record a song. I mean his voice is much much better than both of us but we just wanted him to join us. Haha. It felt almost like 'America's Got Talent' where a contestant who thinks that he/she can really sing but ends up getting all Xs mainly because of THOSE FRIENDS like G and I giving false hope. Okay, I feel kinda bad now. :D

But anyways, we managed to record a song cover which was one of the coolest thing we've done and were pretty proud of it. Just don't puke.

Hahahah, IT WAS TERRIBLE! With all the try-hard fill-ins and all thinking we were COOL cause we ended up giving each other false hope. This was a TRAIN WRECK! Oh, we added a rap part in the song.


These were one of the best times of my life with these good friends. And these were all sweet sweet memories. Retarded,naive and just wanting to have FUN. These are the memories that I would tell my grandkids one day.

Zord : Hey Kids.... cough cough, wanna hear a story of how I formed a band

Kids : Grandpa was in a band?! Wow... so cooooolll (ikr)


This is my entry for the #makemesmile challenge by @elizacheng


Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on my artworks, photography & animations.

I'm also open for

Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Sketches_Footer.jpg

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.



Appreciator Footer.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Sort:  

That first shot is AMAZING!

You should totally do one of those insta-fail type posts with the jump shots. You know, something like -

()

And after a quick listen to that song, I have to say it sounded like... you had a lot of fun recording it, and that's what matters! 😂

Hahah, Probably gonna be all insta-fails!~ Yea we did have a lot of fun, and now it's sealed in the blockchain for life.

LOL! And how many rock stars can say that? 😊

When I was a teen, I was in a band too, on guitar and bass. But we did covers only without original songs...

I still have a mini amp with a guitar at home and occasionally play along songs of gun n roses, red hot chilli peppers and the likes.

Ohhh niceee, I gave my guitar away. It was my favourite but I wasn't going to be in my hometown so gave it off. But I bought myself a Martin acoustic. :D

Well you made me smile! I love your sense of humor!

!!! I'm glad it did!

Haha, thanks for sharing... Great to have memories like that. The great thing about youth is that you aren't afraid to try anything and you believe it will work. That's a quality we shouldn't lose!

That's true, and we do a lot of other stupid things but then when I looked back, it's all good times.

This post made me laugh out loud, @danielwong can be the witness! #makemelaugh lol! Somehow you and your friend were very good in recruitment! 😊

Hahaha, got so funny meh? :D

Well highschool days was the best time for this kind of thing, I mean all things that we think was cool hahahahaha I was in a band too, few of it, won a some battle of the bands and talent gigs but the band never a permenant one. I still remember the last band I was in during highschool where we won the school talent night and it wasn't even my own band. We formed it a few weeks before the talent night and we were roomates in the hostel. We all wanted to join the talent night but we don't have any band so we got together (kinda like those kids that nobody want in their band), played some Indonesian songs and won first place! Beating all the bands that thought they were cooler than us... of course saham naik after that lah... LOL! :D

Wow!!! You're some legit band man. Ours was just a fiction of our imagination. Haha. I've heard of battle of the bands, and always got intimated by the 'looks' of the bands. You know, dreadlocks, and that long hair guy who usually is good at shredding the guitar.

I was in a school band once haha but we only sang Malay songs. I'd love to know more about the girls' internet conflict tho hahaha

Hahahah, it wasn't an internet conflict... it was best friends conflict and it was nastyyyy

Grandkids : Seriously Grandpa! That's you! So young! Cool! 🎤🎻🎹🥁 tip!

Hahaha, Probably will say that too

Hi The High-7, those days no internet, no mobile phones, Music is our main entertainment isnt it. :)

Hahah yealo, got internet, but 1mbps :D Hahaha

This was a delightful read.

I enjoyed it because I've been in one of those garage bands with oil stains on the floor for about two years now and it's been so fun to make music together.

I enjoyed reading about your antics when you were younger. It sounds like you had a whole lot of fun without managing to go too wild....

Dials the police about stolen soft drinks...

haha kidding of course.

Thanks for sharing these memories. They definitely #mademesmile.

Hahaha! bro.... we both had our own band... We COOL YO!~

Packs luggage before police arrives

Thanks for always supporting and dropping by my post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80