MakeMeSmile: The Best Thing a Child Has Taught ME

in #makemesmile7 years ago

radio-2588503_1920.jpg

Image Source

The best thing a child has taught me was... to chill.

It may seem small and easy for some of you, but in my teaching life, I have lost count on these beautiful reminders and lessons from my students. Just recently, my co-teacher was on sick leave for two days, and I decided to take over all her duty slots during snack time, lunch time, and playground time. Sure we had other teachers around to help, but they were either teaching or had meetings to attend. And yes, we need eyes to supervise these kids at all times. The weather was not too accommodating. By noon, I was craving for a coffee shot. My battery was low, and I was close to hibernating with my eyes open. Yes, trust me, I can do that! LOL

source.gif

Image Source

On days like these, I would usually doze off as early as 5:30 pm until the next morning. A super duper long time of hibernation. I guess, the depth of exhaustion may feel almost similar like parenting too. My 'parenting' starts from 7:00 am to 4:00 pm for five days a week, dealing with over 20 hyperactive little monsters. Opps, I mean, students. :D Anyway, so no coffee shot for me, and I was pretty tired to even eat my lunch. Suddenly, there was a gentle tap on my left shoulder. I turned around, and it was one of the best things that I have ever heard from one of my students.

"Miss Cally, you have worked a lot today. You look tired and your hair is messy, so you need to rest. We can go play there, and you can just sit here and enjoy your lunch."

Isn't that thoughtful?! I rather hear that than complaining words about how Student A does not want to play with me, and other student shenanigans. I was so grateful that at least I had 15 minutes of some quiet time while watching my students from a distance, before teaching again for the next 2 hours. Can teacher fatigue be this serious? YES, OF COURSE!

As mentioned in previous post, I am a strong achiever at work. Thus, I always aim to complete all my tasks and responsibilities diligently, and meeting deadlines is really important to me. Pretty much a workaholic when I am on my teacher mood, but it was because of my students and their lovely reminders. I must say that each and every one of them has taught me huge life lessons, and the biggest yet so far is to chill, or to rest. My students are the best teachers in my life. In the teaching and learning journey of transforming young lives, I am even more changed in simple yet extraordinary ways.

Should teachers then make sleeping or resting a priority? A big, fat, happy YES!

heartscally_divider.png

This is my entry for The Best Thing a Child Has Taught contest by @keciah (find #steemmamas at Discord, and MakeMeSmile trail by @elizacheng. Thank you for reading my post today! Hope you liked it :)

heartscally signature.gif

heartscally circle icon.jpeg

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with @steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

Yeah man, the children are good in teaching you to chill. What a thoughtful thing your student has done. Relax on before your weekend finish and chill along the week! :)

MomentCam_20180325224950.gif

made you some virtual coffee

I see you make a pot... So I join and bring my own cup, ya?... Thank you!

Haha join in the party with @heartscally! I can be your barista but can't drink with you cos caffeine gives me palpitations Hehe.

Virtual Coffee Party... Then we need to jio more coffee lovers... There are many here... @ackhoo @littlenewthings @alvinauh and siapa lagi ah? Coffee lovers???

WOWWWW! I love this gif sticker or image of coffee! Thank youuuu, @happycrazycon! :)

Hehe wanna make you happy!

Sweet... Melted on the spot... tip!

Yeahhhh lo... sweeeeetttttness overload. :)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Yes, this is another lesson my son taught me too. Children are the best teachers after all. Lovely post!

That child was cuteeee and considerate. I clicked on the discord channel and god damn.. it's all mamas, like, mommy mamas :D so I suddenly left LOLOL

❤ ❤ ❤ Work less, rest more ! ❤ ❤ ❤

I have to start resting a bit more too. The night before last night, I slept none! Been editing all vids like crazy lately.

Ahahahaa! I did not go too far like you did with the Discord! Oh no, make sure you get enough rest k! :) Will check out your posts soon!

Awww thats so thoughtful from your students. ❤Rest well Ms.Cally! 😊

I know right, you too! Need to restttt! :)

What a sensitive little sweetheart! Sometimes they are our teachers.
All the best!

Thank you for dropping by, @fionasfavourites! :) Appreciate it much.

It's good that these little monsters of yours know how you're feeling and what to say OR did it look that obvious that you were tired LOL hahaha

Take a chill pill Cally. :p

I guess, it must have been VERY OBVIOUS, @travelling-two! Sureeee, I need my chill pill every day, HAHAHA!

Ah the life of a kindergarten / primary school teacher ;) it sure is fun and different every day! :)

Hahahaha, definitely is!!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71