Healthy Homemade CHOCOLATE - Only THREE Ingredients! (vegan, sugar free, gluten free, dairy free)steemCreated with Sketch.


Don't bother buying commercial chocolates - homemade chocolate is ridiculously easy to make yourself!  If only I knew this years ago (back in the days of eating 4 choc bars a night) I would have saved my body from the harmful effects of all that sugar.  No wonder my immune system was all screwed up.  Thankfully once you realise how easy it is to make, and that it doesn't have to contain sugar or milk or any kind of harmful ingredient, you'll never look back.  Not only is it not bad for you, but if you use organic raw ingredients, it's actually good for you!  


The bitter-sweetness of this chocolate is beautiful, and the texture is beautiful too - smooth on the outside and slightly bubbly on the inside... a superior version of those "Aero" chocolate bars made by Nestle (superior because it's healthy and commercial chocolate is far from it).  


You can easily make textured nutty truffles too, which I made simply by adding ground and chopped nuts to the melted chocolate mixture.  But you can add anything to melted chocolate... you can't really go wrong (unless you mix it with something strange like cabbage but then why would you do that?)  


Homemade chocolates are a wonderful gift to make for family and friends.  You can buy tiny foil truffle cases and fancy them up a bit.  Everyone will be so impressed, and you'll save a packet on buying expensive brands!


Ingredients (organic recommended):


150g raw cocoa butter

5 tblsp raw comb honey (or maple syrup)

120g raw cacao powder

(If making nutty truffles add 100g ground nuts + 100g chopped nuts)


Directions:


Melt the cocoa butter on low heat using a double-boiler method.



Remove from heat and immediately stir in the honey.  You should have a lovely golden liquid now.



Stir in the cacao powder by degrees until completely mixed in and smooth.



Pour into chocolate moulds (or ice-cube tray) and pop into the fridge to set.



If making nutty truffles, simply add both the ground nuts and chopped nuts to the chocolate mixture whilst it's still warm and runny.  Roll into balls in your hands, place them onto a tray and pop into the fridge to harden.




For all kinds of health information, tips, recipes (vegan/vegetarian), crafts, photography, and more, please follow me!
 

To find out what my "Make It Healthy Project" is all about, and how you can be involved in growing this project, please click here


Sort:  

Mmmm... chocolate. 😋 I love those little molds. I don't have any of those, but I think I may have to try the nutty ones in any case.

The nutty ones are my favourite :-) I got those moulds from the cheap 'Euro Zone' shop and they're great! But I like getting messy rolling the truffles by hand... Maybe something to do with fond memories from childhood making mud pies... :-)

I think many things are improved when you infuse loving care into it through your own two hands. :) My best friend and I used to make cookie cakes every now and then in high school, and though they were super simple we always thought they tasted so good! I think it was because we'd both stick our fingers right in the pan to mash the dough down. I cringe a little now thinking we used pre-made dough, but it's still a fun memory.

Dear this looks so yummu, and easy to make and healthy thanks for the recipe. Have a good day

Thank you! Yes they're so easy and delicious! :-)

I like it. The chocolates look so pretty.
These look so easy to make and look so yummy.
I'll have to try these.
Thanks for sharing it

Thank you! Yes, they're so yummy, especially with their light bubbly texture from the cocoa butter rather than a hard bite. At least when working with chocolate every experiment leads to delicious treats! :-)

Healthy chocolate?! Sound like dreams 😍😍

Hehe yes!!! What a different experience for our children when we can say "eat some chocolate, it's good for you!"

Oh my word do these look and sound delicious! Thank you for sharing - I will definitely be making these!

Thanks @jaytaylor... it's so quick and easy to make, you'll never buy commercial chocolate again!

I'm shocked by the ease of making the thing I love most. @woman-onthe-wing you're a hero. You're following through with the nature of decentralization with this healthy project. I loves it..

Many thanks @kofibeatz, I'm trying to provide realistic healthy alternatives that are straightforward for people to make (and that appeal to their sweet tooths!) I've been working on some more ideas for the project the last couple of weeks and will be introducing more elements to it very soon! Thanks for your kind words and encouragement :-)

Keep up the stellar performance and thank you for the education mamma..

These look soo good, and so wonderfully simple! runs out to buy a chocolate mold 😊

You won't regret your purchase of chocolate moulds once you've tasted your own chocolate! :-)

This looks yummy! I've never thought about getting cocoa butter for use in recipes. Another one to try.

I always like to have some cocoa butter to hand for both baking and for homemade beauty products! I read somewhere once 'if you can't eat it don't put it on your skin' :-) And the smell of it... oh my goodness. It makes wonderful chocolate, and different texture than if using coconut oil. Let me know if ever you try it out!

I will! I've noticed that Real Foods in Edinburgh sells it. They also supply my hemp seeds, so I think I'll be putting in another order soon :)

These look divine, will have to give these a whirl, haven't used cocoa butter before it looks quite solid compared to cow butter.

Yes it's very hard, so perfect for making chocolate as it sets nicely. Smells just like chocolate too! I like to keep some handy for both baking and making homemade lotions/deodorants etc :-)

Will have to hunt some down, love the smell of chocolate, do they taste close to Belgium chocolate by any chance?

Actually, yes, they do have a Belgium choc similarity now you mention it! Light and creamy, melt-in-the-mouth. I buy raw unrefined cacao butter online, it's often cheaper to buy like 1 kilo rather than a small amount from an expensive health/wholefoods shop. I don't know if you use Amazon but here's the link to what I bought, though I think it's a UK company but sure there'd be something similar for NZ... you can use cocoa butter for homemade cosmetics too: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Cocoa-Butter-1kg-Certified-Unrefined/dp/B01HWZUYDI/ref=sr_1_2_sspa?ie=UTF8&qid=1524587510&sr=8-2-spons&keywords=raw+unrefined+cocoa+butter&psc=1

Awesome will have to get the ingredients together to make these!
Don't use Amazon, it's not yet in NZ a few more years away, Thank you for the link, will do some searching for a local/ or NZ wholesaler.

Ah, I wasn't sure if Amazon did the whole world yet, but maybe it's a good thing they don't! I don't really like using big companies but prefer to support smaller local stores whenever I can. Good luck hunting down the cocoa butter... it should be standard stock in most wholefoods places I would have thought :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66