Make a Hero Contest: I nominate @tezzmax for the WIN.

in #makeahero6 years ago (edited)

Reading through @waphilip recent post, my friend, student, and fellow artist @tezzmax asked for my help in nominating him as a winner for this contest.

I'm going to be reviewing what to me, has been his best artwork so far. Mind you, he's improving everyday!

Nucleus Art 20180128_202753.jpg

Little Preliminary Insight:

I'm going to start with a little bit about Nucleus (@tezzmax). We "met" or rather became acquaintances when he sent me a DM via my Instagram profile, asking me if I could tutor him and teach him more drawing skills and techniques. Naturally, I was a bit reluctant to give him the time of day. Firstly because I don't tutor people via social media, and secondly because I'm just a very skeptical person by nature.

IMG-20180129-WA0001.jpg

Then I gave him a sort of assignment to work on, and he drew absolute nonsense! I mean horrible! In the same words, I told him that his drawing was bad as hell! Lol (I don't mince words). I must have bruised his ego a little bit, because he went back and drew a moderately acceptable picture. I gave him some advice, referred him to some channels where he can better learn how to draw, and that was it.

Incidentally, he introduced me to Steemit. Yup, @tezzmax was the one that introduced me to this great platform! The stone that the builders rejected shall become the cornerstone indeed! That was when we really started getting to know each other, and moved from "tutor-student" to friends. I call him little bro and it annoys the hell out of him, so now I always call him that. 😀

IMG-20180129-WA0002.jpg

About the drawing:

When I saw this drawing by Nucleus, I was really impressed. It was such an improvement from the former baby scribbles he used to make. I asked him what the drawing was about, and this is what he told me -

It's a picture of a hair style I saw at my barber's shop, and I fell in love with it. So I decided to draw it; it took me less than 3hrs to make the drawing, as well as the video.

So he drew a haircut from his barbershop! If you would like to watch the video of how he achieved this art piece, click here (https://steemit.com/dtube/@tezzmax/hyuevjbh)

IMG-20180129-WA0005.jpg

Why does @tezzmax deserve to win?

Here's the thing, being an artist - a commercial one at that - is not easy. I know because I sell my drawings, and Nucleus doesn't, not yet anyway. Now recently he just got admitted into the University of Lagos, and is now an undergraduate. Noticed he hasn't been active recently, and he told me about the stress involved. Now it's normal for all newly admitted students to go through this, but he has to cater for himself.
I think he deserves to win this contest, as the money itself would go a long way - in paying some fees, and getting some nenecessary study equipment. The struggle is real, and @tezzmax would really appreciate the 10 STEEM reward.

IMG-20180129-WA0007.jpg

Now I have never met this boy one on one, but I think he's going places if he's ready to put the work in. I could easily nominate myself, but I'd rather it be him. 😄

So to @waphilip, let's make @tezzmax a hero!

Sort:  

@tezzmax
Deserve this , he is good and as a student OF Unlag he needs this more to foot his bill.

I think you're the only hero here :) Great write up on your boy @tezzmax! I'll be keeping an eye on both your profiles for here on out! Thanks for participating!

Thank you very much! Looking forward to it.

keep it up Bro! follow back and upvote me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99