Propogating a Crown of Thorns plant

CIMG2549.JPG

There is, what I think, is an interesting story about this particular crown of thorns plant. In the mid 80's my husband and I took to the highway working construction and mining jobs. We moved into our little bitty home made camper and" got out on the highway" I have always had flowers and plants taking up most of the living space in the house, but moving into the camper meant I had to re home some of my plants. :( I was helping a friend a couple years ago clean and get her house ready for a holiday with family, and I noticed her huge Crown of Thorns. Wow, it was monsterous! I commented on it and asked if I could have a start one day. She said, of course, you are the one that gave it to me! This lil baby survived all these years. I'm so happy to have a slip of it again. :) Kind of a full circle sort of thing. It's been a couple of years and it's getting kinda "leggy". I decided to make 2 from 1. I thought I might look up what it says to do with them, instead of just hacking and planting, like I usually do. I found out I have been a horrible mother! lol So this time, I am adding the granite gravel to the dirt for better drainage, because apparently it doesn't like wet feet! I don't know why it is still alive. lol. Here we go.

crown of thorns 1.JPG
The first picture I took myself with my casio, the remaining pictures were taken with my camera, the casio, by @fishyculture and then I edited them with my computer app.

I am going to wear a pair of gloves today because this Plant was named crown of thorns for a reason. The white sap is considered poisonous as well, so be sure to not come in contact with it, and if you do...oops! NO, go wash and rinse yourself! I've never gotten ill from it, but I have a very strong constitution.

crown of thorns 2.JPG

I'm chuckling now because I look so serious! lol It is serious business!

crown of thorns 3.JPG

I'm going to use a fairly good sized pot because it will hopefully have a long root mass. I want to give it some room. It will probably stay in this pot for a very long time.

crown of thorns 4.JPG

crown of thorns 5.JPG

crown of thorns 6.JPG

I'm using 2 wire cloths hangers straightened out to make a frame that will hold the plastic bag mostly away from the plant so it has it's own little greenhouse. I will leave it in this environment until I see new growth from the top of the plant. I will know then if it was a successfull propagation. Cross your fingers everyone. I've never done this by the book before. LOL I did however, follow the moon cycle.

Sort:  

See those scissors? NOW you know why I always say nice things about her... LOL!

Amazing, I don't blame you wearing gloves I hope @fishyculture had full body armour in defence of the two hunting knives you have bolted together! I like the progress pictures and it's interesting seeing cuttings done this way - throughly enjoyed this well done.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

LOL I keep those scissors on my night stand actually. :)

You are so great. I love the humor in your posts. That plant is amazing. I will have to look into it more! Love the shears you used....so added to the dramatic occurence of the cut! Will keep my fingers crossed but am pretty sure your intention and love will bring it on strong.

we can only hope. :) I keep those scissors on my night stand actually. Home defense? lol If that doesn't work, I have a 9mm also. Never had to use either, but it helps me sleep at night.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #macrophotography, the weekly selection will be released on Friday.

You have earned 5.65 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 2/5
Multiplier: 1.13
Server time: 22:14:03
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 93.75/100.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a lovely story and plant! I too have plants out there in the wild, when I get to travel and visit family & friends I'm, always watering and cleaning "my plants" (lol) it's like a custody thing.

Mine are going into the shower one of these warmer days

Looks a good idea to be wearing those gloves i know you say you have a strong constitution but it doesnt hurt to be sensible

Thanks for sharing us the progress photos of the process quite interesting

the older I get the less i am willing to jeopardize myself. lol

I am starting to be the same :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.28
ETH 3507.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15