The Golden Silk Orb Weaver Spider - Possibly The STRONGEST WEB In The World

This is a Golden Silk Orb Weaver Spider.

26222720_Unknown.JPG

This extraordinary spider is a common sight here in Costa Rica. It is long living and can make webs up to six meters wide if left un-disturbed. In the past, tribesmen of the South Pacific actually used the bigger webs as fishing nets, creating these by passing a curved stick through the giant woven structures.
         I have myself walked into the webs and found it possible to back out of them carefully again without them breaking. The large female spider is not accustomed to bite unless particularly provoked, whereas the small male who is always nearby has a painful bite that would cause discomfort.
        
         The web itself is spun from two separate amino acids, namely glycine and alanine. When woven together these simple proteins create a web stronger than steel and more flexible than nylon.
        As well as being formidable web weavers these spiders also excel in their created capacity to excrete a pesticide which naturally deters ants, who would normally be their greatest preditors.
        These amazing creatures have not gone un-noticed by manufacturers who are currently looking for ways to farm these webs for a multitude of applications.
         Just another of the wonders I come across every day in this jungle paradise that is Costa Rica.

This was taken using my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS

Namaste

Do not seek love. Be Love.

Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev

Sort:  

What a beautiful spider! It's impressive to learn about all these facts! Nice post!

Thank you it is amazing I agree!

Very rare to see these photos, awsome micro photography.

Thanks for a nice remark.

Nice information about the spider with some great picture
Thanks for that

I would freak out so much if I got caught in that spider’s strong web! Makes it even scarier that the smaller male has a stronger bite! But nice that they won’t bite unless provoked.

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

Thank you

Thanks for your comment, I have not been bitten ☺️

incredible, you are a very professional photographer

Thank you so much for your kind comment

Awesome post, you got a great shot of her! I'm pretty fearful of arachnids, but I still find them interesting and beautiful. Webs are mesmerizing, so perfect yet chaotic.

Thank you very much

I'm deathly afraid of spiders, well, only very large ones. But in photos, sometimes I'm simply captivated by their beauty. The yellow spots on the back of this one for instance are so mesmerizing. What a stellar shot! I feel less scared ;)

Thanks very much for your great comment. It is nice to meet you.
Following your blog

I had some of those in my backyard here in San José, they are pretty common actually, however, they are terrifying!!! Hahaha, well, I'm not specially fond of spiders, but the nice thing about them is they eat tons of insects. Thanks for sharing @sallybeth23!

They are very common, yes we have lots down south here.

Awesome post. Good info provided.

Thanks for your support, I appreciate it

good blog nice pic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31