Color Challenge: Thursday Green -- Apple Tree Lichen Macrophotography

in #macrophotography6 years ago

I had hoped to post a series today, but I had huge amounts of writing and editing to do today and the day just got out of control.

So I will have to save the others for another day. I just can't get more done today and still post. I am pushing my limits posting at all.

The following is true to the real color and is a lichen growing on our apple tree.

lichen1-cropped.JPG

lichen1.JPG

Both images are clickable to view at a higher resolution. The first one is a more cropped version of the second.

Sony Hx400V
ISO 200
1/60 sec
f/5,0

Handheld. Natural light only.

Sort:  

That looks like a terrible lettuce infestation. Salad is taking over your trees. That's a sad way to go.

Hah! You should have seen the ones I ran out of time to edit. Now THAT looked like lettuce

I think you've got a problem. That's no lichen. That's an alien growth in the process of mutating your apple tree into a sentient, walking creature. This is how it begins Bex; the world's downfall starts with your apple tree.

On a more serious note: beautiful color. I can't wait to go lichen hunting when winter is over.

When can I expect this story about the alien mutation thingie disguised at lichen to arrive in the queue? I will be looking for it...

Well I had to go and open my mouth, didn't I? Haha. Now that you'll be looking for it, I actually dictated an opening to my phone on the way to work this morning. Dont expect anything too much now... of course, last time I said that I ended up with 4k words.

I've never seen such a green lichen like this! @aksounder is right, it's an alien, hahaha :)))
Your post is among the 21, check my post: https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@colorchallenge/21-beautiful-examples-of-colorchallenge-post-from-the-last-week

I hadn't either. I suspect it relates to the weather. I looked at the tree the other day and the lichen lacked that vibrant, vivid color. I think it was perhaps reacting to moisture and a bit of sunlight. Perhaps that enhanced the algae in it.

Gorgeous color and textures!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #macrophotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 22:21:47
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 72.10/100.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53