Red snakehead - Channa

in #macrophotography6 years ago (edited)

It so happened that I needed to find some files in the old computer, which I had not included for about seven years.

I completely forgot that photos from the times when I had a pet store were stored in it. These photos are not very good quality, I made them a soap box canon, in which there was only an automatic mode and a resolution of about 5 megapixels, I already don’t remember exactly.

Some photos are interesting. Let's start with these.

zmeegolov2.JPG

You may already be familiar. If this is not the case, let me introduce you to my old friend, these are snakeheads.

It is called the red snakehead. At a young age, when he is the size of a little finger, he has, along the body, a strip of red. Over time, it disappears.

When he was small, I had a big problem with feeding him. He did not eat frozen food. Then I went to extreme measures and began to feed him small fish. She had to be alive.

In the pet store every, even the smallest fish, worth the money. Feeding the snakehead, this thing is not cheap. But, as they say, we are responsible for those who have tamed.

zmeegolov4.JPG

He grew very interesting. In the beginning, he became like an accordion, and then stretched out and became more by several centimeters.

Several times, in the morning when I came to the store, I found it on the floor. Workers forgot to cover the aquarium.

The snakehead was covered in mucus and crawled around the room. This mucus absorbed all the dust from the floor. I picked it up, rinsed it under running water and sent it back to the aquarium.

Snakeheads are able to breathe atmospheric air, they are lungfish. In nature, they are able to crawl from one reservoir to another reservoir in search of food. When the snakehead appears in the reservoir, there becomes little food and inhabitants. His appetite is excellent, and his teeth are very sharp.

zmeegolov1.JPG

When winter came, I realized all the charm of the room, which I rented for the store. The walls were covered with plastic clapboard, there were running around herds of mice. I had to fight them with various methods.

Poison I did not want to use, the bad smell in the store, it's bad. I put a mousetrap. This allowed the snakehead to spend a satisfying winter and grow up to seventy centimeters.

I loved to play with him. He behaved like a dog. I ran my finger along the glass of the aquarium, and he hunted him.

zmeegolov5.JPG

Photos taken with a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300 camera
Author @barski
Moldova

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

Very cool post :)
Cheers!

Thank you very much @davidgermano ! This is an interesting beast.

How do you call that red snakehead when it is not read? 😃

And why, he's alone in the aquarium? 😳

Thank @macoolette ! He ate everyone)) Just kidding. He will eat all those who are planted to him. He has a great appetite.

Great appetite and selfishness, I should say. I wonder how an ecosystem would be when you keep eating your fellow creatures. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83