Peace and love and macro photography

in #macro8 years ago (edited)

Hey folks.

Thought I would share some of my recent photos. I'm primarily interested in portrait photography but when I get the opportunity, I love shooting macro. I find it very relaxing, and without sounding too hippy-dippy, it has brought me closer to nature, in a very positive way.

Unlike many macro photographers, I never use a tripod, instead relying on one or two flashes, with various modifiers.
All pics taken with Nikon d750.

..........
Flower from Purple Glory Tree.

..........
Microsorum Pustulatum Fern. Common in New Zealand and parts of Australia. Also known as "Kangaroo Fern" or "Hounds Tongue"

..........
Dahlia "Ferndale". Once a year in my local botanical gardens, there is a Dahlia festival. They're one of my favourite flowers.

..........
Another Dahlia.

..........
Ant. Before doing macro photography, I never noticed ants in every day life. They do however end up popping up everywhere, once you put that macro lens on. Fast little critters!

..........
Limnanthes aka Douglas Meadfoam

..........
Orchid

Anyway, thanks for looking! :)
If anyone would like to ask any questions about kit or technique, by all means please do.

Sort:  

These are great. I agree share the lens and flash info. Nicely done.

Hey Mctiller. Thanks for the kind words. I'm using the Nikon 105mm f2.8 VR "NIKKOR Micro". The flashes I use are the Godox system. I've a few different ones (they're all compatible with the X1 trigger) but most often I end up using the TT685 as it has TTL, which I love (don't tell anyone)

Hey Cool. Would be nice to have some details about the lens you use.

Hey justoneartist. Thanks a million. I use the Nikon 105mm f2.8 VR lens and I absolutely love it. It was an upgrade to the older "D" version, and while it's nice to have the VR occasionally for portraits, I have to say the older version of the lens is just as sharp at regular macro f stops (ie f16-f32)... also very light, and you can buy it for like 250 bucks!

Love your blog and your photos are amazing.
Thanks for your comment on my post and have a great week taking photos.

You too! :)

FWIW, the modifier I use most often is the "ROUNDFLASH". Often on-camera, but sometimes held off at an angle. It ticks every box for me - Lightweight, portable, soft light, quick to set up and dismantle.

Good post! I like it! Good Luck To You!

Really great macros condra

Well hello.
I’m Elvis Hicks, a semi-autonomous reincarnation of Elvis Presley and Bill Hicks. I have a burger in one hand and a cigarette in the other.
My checks tell me this post is probably genuine, original content.
GOOD JOB! Uh Huhh!
Thank you. Thank you very much.
(Elvis has left the building)

I love your work! Following.

Beautiful art!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37