Steemit Talent Contest week 8: the “Eighth of January” celtic mandolin

This is a fun crossover reel (dance tune) called the “Eighth of January.” It was Irish, but popularized in country music circles by Johnny Horton as “The Battle of New Orleans”

Enjoy! 🙃

C2362DA6-3257-40A5-95D6-A89BE0695A77.jpeg

Don’t forget to check out some of my other videos & art:
Why I Record in my Kitchen https://steemit.com/music/@heatherthebard/why-i-record-in-my-kitchen
Celtic Mandolin - “Soldier’s Joy” https://steemit.com/mandolin/@heatherthebard/celtic-mandolin-soldier-s-joy
Ascension — original charcoal https://steemit.com/art/@heatherthebard/ascension
Open Mic 75 - “Si Beag Si More” https://steemit.com/openmic/@heatherthebard/steemit-open-mic-75-celtic-mandolin-si-beag-si-more

Sort:  

Every now and then I uncover a gem on steemit, someone I haven't come across before.
You are amazing. I saw your post on the vision quest.

You made that flute?!

And Played it beautifully, but wait, there's more.
Celtic mandolin too! Hell yeah steemits got talent, goes by the name of @heatherthebard 💃.

You are too kind! 🙂 Thank you for such a lovely compliment!

Yes, I did make that flute, I hope to make a couple more in different keys. I have small children, and indestructible flutes are a bonus for worry-free music-making! Ain’t gonna be nicked, dinged, or whatever by curious little fingers. 🙂 (My mandolin gets babied a bit by comparison, lol.)

Thank you for stopping by and I am so happy you enjoy what I do!

Oh! Unfairly few comments and upvotes! How interesting you guitar! I play a little on six-string guitar and such four-stringed small guitar never seen before : )

It is a unique instrument — a mandolin that happens to be guitar-shaped. It also has a bit of a bowl-back, so it is unusually mellow and resonant in comparison to other mandolin designs. It is a lot of fun to play. :)

Beautiful music!

You know its cheating when you play a song named after my birthdate right? 😂

LOL!! So... you’re saying I should have listed it by its alter-ego, “The Battle of New Orleans”..... hehehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62667.39
ETH 2432.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66