Lucid Dreaming - What It Is, And How You Can Learn It

in #luciddreaming7 years ago (edited)

Lucid dreaming is being consciously aware within a dream that you are having a dream. This consciousness is not a binary state but can wary from noticing something odd in a dream environment to being fully in control of it.

Source

I've already had the ability to see lucid dreams for a while but the ability wasn't always there. In fact I decided to learn it when a friend of mine introduced me into the topic, and everyone else can learn it, too.

You say everyone can learn it. How?

You must remember the dreams themselves in the first place. The easiest way to achieve this is as simple as keeping a dream journal; every morning when you wake up, write down everything you remember - what you saw and felt - on paper, notebook, cellphone, where ever you like. It can be boring (I'm also guilty of neglecting this at times) but it is essential for a solid foundation on the journey to lucidity, forcing you to remember and teaching your brain that your dreams are in fact important to remember.

The next step towards mastering lucid dreaming starts with a shift in awareness in the actual awake life. It's as simple as observing your own surroundings and just thinking or asking yourself "is this real or am I dreaming?"

The simplest way of practicing this and confirming the answer is through "reality tests", which are means to confirm that you are either dreaming or awake (same test, different output comparing dream state and real world).



Source

Um... Maybe someone should've told Leonardio di Caprio that there is an easier way to figure this out?


The most reliable reality check is the breathing test, and it works as follows:

Close up your nose with your fingers and then try to breath through it with your mouth closed.

Obviously, you can't breath like this in the real world, but in a DREAM you CAN because there are no physical laws in dreams. This is something I will discuss more in the future.

There are also other tests like looking at your hands or a clock but they aren't as reliable.

These practices might seem funny because you're likely thinking "of course I know I'm not in a dream", while doing them. But if you have this kind of attitude in real life, it probably follows you into the dream world also, hence you don't become lucid in a dream because of taking reality as granted.

The point is to have a shift in your mindset to always question the reality, or whenever you remember, so that you bring this habbit into the dream world. And the one time when you do your regular reality check holding your nose, but suddenly realizing you can breath through it, you'll have that moment like: "Holy shit. It's a dream!"

SAVAGElucidbob.png

The first lucid dreams you have could only last a brief moment because you might get over excited, and the dream could "crash" because of this, but you'll learn to take things cool with more experience. I've heard of a dream stabilizing technique where you rub your hands together which is supposed to prolong the ongoing dream. I don't have much experience on this so you'll have to try it out yourself if it works for you.

Achieving lucidity in a dream can take weeks or even months depending on the person. For me, I think it took maybe 3 months of more or less active trying before I got my first one, so don't get discouraged after few attempts.


Do you have any wild lucid dream or just wacky dream experiences? I'd be happy to hear about them.


My original purpose was to tell about my recent crazy lucid dream experience I had but it branched into a full introduction to lucid dreaming, so my story will be left to a later separate post to keep things nice and clean.

Until then, I wish you happy dreaming!


GIF from Giphy.com

Sort:  

I have been consciously lucid dreaming so often for 5 years now and the more I am able to log myself into my own subconsciousness the more able am I to remember more details.

I never tried to actively train my lucid dream ability, however, and let it develop naturally. Lucid dreaming and astral projection go somewhat hand in hand and are both Heart-based. So the places I visit are naturally places I have a Heart-connection with, which can be on Earth or elsewhere. Lucid dreaming/ Astral projection mainly takes me to my exact birthplace next lifetime on another planet and every time I travel there, there is this huge feeling of Home. Over the time I remember more and more details in the environment and nuances and it gets a lot easier and less energy-consuming. I even drew a map of it.
Doing this makes it an unquenchable source of anticipation towards that life without losing touch with the current moment, the dormant Awareness is powerful enough.

Great post! Thanks! ;)

I have been consciously lucid dreaming so often for 5 years now

That makes you almost a veteran then. Thank you for reading and sharing your experience!

I have experienced it few times. It is odd feeling when you are sleeping, seeing a dream and knowing it all. I wonder how deep and complex my subconscious is as I see sometimes (especially when sick) very very bizarre dreams. 🙈😱

Did you know, some people has the managed themselves skills to direct/create the content of their dreams? I have watched a documentary concerning this topic.

I wonder how deep and complex my subconscious is as I see sometimes (especially when sick) very very bizarre dreams.

I'm sure everyone has some wild stuff buried in there somewhere.

Did you know, some people has the managed themselves skills to direct/create the content of their dreams?

Yes, I'm aware this is possible. In fact, I did something like this recently in a lucid dream. I'm planning to tell more about it in a future post ;)

Really!? Fascinating and scary in the same time. 😱🧐 Definitely looking forward on this post. If possible, can you share how did you realise that you were able to manage the content!? I wish I could do that too... I would see only sweet dreams. 😃✨👌🏽

If possible, can you share how did you realise that you were able to manage the content!?

I'm not sure if it counts as managing the content itself but I was able to manipulate the physics and therefore change the dreams in some way.

Now this is a change of pace I love. Usually, when there is extreme danger, injury, or some other strong emotion in a dream, that is when something makes me take it over.

Often times it is when Amber Heard is making eyes at me and it ruins EVERYTHING! ;)

I am going to have to change some of my waking hapits/mindsets and see how well it works.

Great piece!

Thank you @zekepickleman!

Often times it is when Amber Heard is making eyes at me and it ruins EVERYTHING! ;)

Haha, oh, the beautiful dream women who ruin our focus...

I wish you success with dreaming!

I've attempted lucid dreaming, but usually end up with sleep paralysis instead. It's quite unnerving, but I may give it a try again using some of your tips this time!

I've attempted lucid dreaming, but usually end up with sleep paralysis instead.

I know the feeling; they can be terrifying.

It's quite unnerving, but I may give it a try again using some of your tips this time!

Cool, I hope you succeed!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59999.40
ETH 2646.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44