LSCOTTPHOTOS Self-Portrait series - "Ripples" (Original Photo)

in #lscottphotos8 years ago (edited)

Second photo in my Self-Portrait series!

ISO 100, 32mm, 0ev, f/7.1, 1/125

FADE filter

This photo was taken using a continuous self-timer as I ran like a maniac to jump in the water. 

I like the simplicity of the photo as the only subject is the girl (me) standing in the water. The texture of the ripples add detail and help play around with the light. I like the ombre effect of the light towards the top of the photo and the gradual darkening towards the bottom where I stand.

I cropped the photo so that I was closer to the bottom right hand side. This gives the photo a sense of "waiting" for something as I look off into the distance. 

Finally, I enjoy the ambiguity once again as my face is not shown. I love portraits that hide or deflect notice from the face.

What do you think? Constructive criticism welcome and feedback appreciated!

Don't forget to upvote if you liked it!

PREVIOUS SELF-PORTRAITS:

  1. LSCOTTPHOTOS Self-Portrait series - "Reflections" (Original photo) 
Sort:  

Wow, gorgeous photo!

Interesting photo!

Maybe I'm wrong but it feels like the bottom quarter of this picture has more contrast and a blueish tint and the upper parts are more yellowish/orange. I can see a hard transition line on the right side where it suddenly gets kinda orange.
I like the reflections on your back. I would have maybe made them more shine... shiny.
Looks good!
Upvoted.

The color difference is probably due to the Fade filter, I couldn't decide if I liked it or not haha! I don't have photoshop or any type of lightroom so I can only do basic cropping and enhancement. I'll try to mess around more with it :) Thank you!

"Raw Therapee" is a free program which can edit raw files. It's pretty powerful.
Other free programs that come into mind: darktable, LightZone, GIMP...
But for me everything's free thanks to the almighty torrents of web pirates ;)

Haha awesome, I'll look into it! I haven't shot RAW yet but maybe I'll start soon

This has a cinematic feel to it. This is good, nice job @lscottphotos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43