LSCOTTPHOTOS Self-Portrait series - "Reflections" (Original photo)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

First photo in my new Self-Portrait series!

I've decided to start a new series of self-portraits in order to cultivate creativity and think outside the box. As I've mentioned before, I've always wanted to talk surreal and abstract portraits... but with my social anxiety, I would rather take images of myself than other people. These are going to be so much more than simple selfies since I hope to hone my skills and let my imagination run wild! 

This photo was taken on my Iphone today in front of an old window leaning against the side of my house. I'm happy with the way it turned out for several reasons. 

First, the composition was basically "pre-made." The window pane frames my reflection perfectly. I also like the geometric shapes that the window lines add on the left side and bottom of the photo. It's also slightly "off kilter" since the window pane lines are not strictly vertical/horizontal which I think enhances the strange, dark vibe.

Second, I like the mystery and ambiguity of this self-portrait. It's not a clear image focused on me but instead on the shadow I cast in the world. It reminds me of a quote...

Your shadow is a confirmation that light has travelled nearly 93 million miles unobstructed, only to be deprived of reaching the ground in the final few feet by you.

Source

Finally, I love the texture of the wood shingles on my house that you can see through the glass. The rough texture is enhanced by being black&white.  

What do you think? Constructive criticism welcome and feedback appreciated!

P.S. I will continue working on this series slowly so this will probably be a weekly post. Follow me to make sure you don't miss a pic!

Don't forget to upvote if you liked it!

<3 lscottphotos

Sort:  

Cool shot! I like the mystery of it.

Nice shot! And more than a bit ominous.

Thanks, I'm glad it turned out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43