Love It or Shove It: Cats, Metro Manila Traffic and more

in #loveitshoveit6 years ago (edited)

Wanderlass avatar small-01.jpeg
The Doll by @matytan and licensed under CC BY 4.0. Modifications made: Added Text Bubbles via Snapseed

I got nominated by @kismet2018, @tifaong and @titajuls for the Love It or Shove It post. I was hesitant to join but after the 3rd nomination, I got convinced!

The rules for this challenge are simple: list 5 things you love and 5 things you dislike. You can nominate other people to the same.


❤💘💓Love It💓💘❤


1) My Moms

That's plural. Growing up, I had 3 moms: Mama (my real mom), Mami (a guardian) and Leh (sister of Mami who's also like a mom). They have sacrificed a lot for me and my brother. They have all passed away but my love for them and their love for me remains. ❤

2)Kind People

I wouldn't be where I am now if not for people who have helped me, and they are not even blood relatives. I was able to graduate from college because generous scholarship sponsors. I was able to find my way back to a hostel when I was lost because of a kind stranger. I was able to go through depression because of people who do not know me. I am still here in Steemit because of kind people at the chat channels and communities. And so many more challenges that I have survived because of them.

They are different people in different seasons of my life. ❤

3) Travel

Although I am not traveling at the moment, I have travelled a lot in the previous years whenever my job allows it. Every year, I travel at least 6 times, domestic and international. This may not be a lot for other travelers but this is what I have managed to afford with the salary and time off that I have.

I would really like to live somewhere else where I can travel to other countries. I have almost completed my Southeast Asia list. I initially planned to go to Laos on this Holy Week holiday but I didn't push through with the plan. I am saving up and delaying gratification for something more long term.🏖

4) Animals

Seeing a cat or a dog on the street really lightens up my day. After a stressful day at work, I cross paths with cats and they take the stress away. As revealed on my earlier post 10 truths and 1 lie, I do not have a cat at home. This is not allowed where I rent so I just feed the stray cats in my area.🐈

5) Beauty Products

Cosmetic shops feels like heaven for me. I remember being in Myeong Deong, South Korea and be so thrilled with all the cheap cosmetics, it felt like I'm in Disneyland! I don't regularly put on make up but I enjoy relaxing with a face mask or an eye mask on. I specially like hypoallergenic and organic products because I have sensitive skin. I have also tried almost all Beauty DIY and tips you can find in YouTube like Oil Cleansing, Dry Brushing, essential oils etc.👧

I am trying to be a minimalist and have been successful limiting my set of clothes but for now, using beauty products is my vice.


😤😞😲Shove It😲😞😤


Warning: Rants coming up. For people who don't like reading rants or negative things, stop here. This is part of the challenge so I'm taking this opportunity to be real to some things I wanna shove.

1 Illness (F^@# you, Tumors!)

Please do not worry with what I will say. I have suspicious papillary thyroid cancer. Suspicious because it was only a small sample where they found the cancer cells via Fine Needle Biopsy. And the doctors will only be able to conclude after I get a Thyroidectomy (plus Radioactive Iodine), which I will not take for now.

According to the different doctors I spoke with, papillary thyroid cancer isn't aggresive unless it transforms to a different form of thyroid cancer.

Yes, I am lucky to be looking normal and not feeling any pain. But can I rant a bit? Tumors sucks. Waiting for your thyroid ultrasounds and hope it improves makes me anxious.

A lot in my life has to change since I got diagnosed in late 2013 from diet to lifestyle. I am taking alternative medicine too. This is the most difficult part because everything is just expensive and I cannot really remove stress as this has been part of my work life. Luckily, there are no extreme physical changes except the tumors and getting tired easily. 😷

2) Gossip

I will not talk about them because I do not like gossips at all. It destroys people and even relationships.😧

3) Depression

Sadly, this is something not yet given any attention in the Philippines. They always say we are a happy nation or we have families and friends to talk to – who needs Mental Health Providers? In my experience, depression is still downplayed here and people even think you are just being maarte for being depressed. No one really understands. ☹

4) Crab Mentality

Sadly, there are people who find ways to pull their fellow man down. Like crabs in a basket, they don't like seeing other crabs escape so instead of focusing on climbing the basket, they pull the succeeding crab down so they are on the same state. This makes me sad. 🦀

5) Metro Manila Traffic

I decided to move to a place nearer work despite the premium I have to pay when it took me 4 hours to get home just because it rained (It wasn't even a typhoon!). Roads were flooded which worsen the traffic. Ideally, my previous place will only take 30 to 40 minutes. On average it takes 2.5 hours. I am not even sure now because the traffic has worsened over the years.

I have colleagues who spend an average of 3 hours of commute time to work which is 6 lost hours per day. Ideally, it should only take them an hour to get to work. An unacceptable situation that this nation has seemingly helplessly accepted. 🚗🚙🚚🚛🚕🚓🚐

Sort:  

One thing I seriously love is your posts. They never fail to give me a smile and a "wish I were there".

Thanks for this list and all you do.

Thank you so much @bigtom13. Your comment also made me smile 😀

Thanks for sharing these with us @wonderlass. It makes me know you a little better.

You're welcome @zestforlife and thanks too for taking time to get to know me. You can do this too, this can make a good #introduceyourself post since you are fairly new here :)

Thank you for the suggestion @wanderlass, appreciate it so much. That's brilliant it can be a good idea as #introduceyourself topic! I'll keep that in mind :)

Wow, 6 hours! I hope it takes you a lot less time now. I would be more than willing to pay a higher price to be closer to the workplace in that case, given how much I hate being in transit. Can you at least do something during that time?

Me too, I chose to pay higher rent for the time savings. I have colleagues who have no choice because their families are a bit farther away. And the city spaces here aren't suitable for families.

Some just entertain themselves during the commute time like watch movies on their phone or read, some sleep.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wanderlass from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

wowww you made it looks even better :D <3 <3.

sorry for the tumors, i thinks it ok you can fix it and im sure.

Hehe I just added text to your image for the post. Thanks and yes I think this can be healed :)

Nuks. Ayos tlga art ni matytan din. haha.

Yeah traffic sucks so lately I only work where it's not too hard to go there in time. :D

Lucky you! You have a flexi sched. :) Mejo wala na ko pag-asa sa traffic situation natin T_T

And yes, @matytan's art is awesome!

Tita Juls totally agrees with Gossip and the Crab Mentality in your Shove It List! 😲😲😲

And you are a kind person - thank you for being you @wanderlass 😘😘😘

Please send my thanks to Tita Juls :D Yeah, gossip and crab mentality are destroyers, must be avoided at all costs.

Oh my god, I'm glad I commented on this before the payout, thought my vote is quite worthless but consider it my thanks for entering the challenge :)

I totally with you when travelling and kind people are what you love. And I really, really hate gossips! I always keep my mouth shut when my friends started gossiping.

Please don't ever think your vote is worthless. And I appreciate it and your support on this post. Thank you! :)

Thank you @wanderlass for your kind words :)

This is a very warm and loving list, you have depth of character and feeling @wanderlass, and such appreciation for life. You really are a shining role model of inspiration my friend, you can heal yourself!!!
🔆 🔆 🔆

Thank you @barge I'm happy you see that in me through these things I wrote. Hopefully, I get healed soon so I can leave the country and travel long term :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72