You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can you marry someone who dosen't share the same religion with you?

in #love6 years ago

My parents were both of a different religion, my father being Presbyterian and my mother Catholic. My sisters and brothers were all baptized in the faith of my mother, however, I was initially baptized in the faith of my father because where they lived there was no Catholic church. The only contention I know of came more from the dislike of my father’s mother to my mother’s religion.

Upon arriving in Canada, I was subsequently baptized Catholic.

Now married, I am a non-practicing Catholic and my husband a non-practicing Lutheran.

Based on this experience, I would say yes, you can marry someone who doesn’t share the same religion.

However, out of respect that I do not have knowledge of all religions, I do believe problems can arise when beliefs are of totally different perspectives. That is, in my family, whether Catholic, Presbytarian, or Lutheran, they are all based on similar but different Christian type faiths and therefore share a common bond or base of understanding. To bring in beliefs that may be totally opposite would indeed be a problem.

My personal opinion though is that children should be made aware of all faiths and receive some education, however, when of an age of understanding, should be permitted to make their own choices and it not be forced upon them.

Thank you for your post and for being open to other view points.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74