Can you marry someone who dosen't share the same religion with you?

in #love5 years ago

View the original post on Musing.io

My Dad is a Muslim while my Mum is a christian. Being from different religion, it affected we the children enormously. There were a kind of competition in the family on to which religion to be practised by the children. As the head, my dad taught us the way of Islam from the scratch but his effort wasn't enough and my mum hijacked him and compress us with her own believe. Eventually, there was division and commotions when my dad discovered that almost all his children has started attending churches. He picked quarell with my mum almost everyday on this.

He kept telling her not to affect us with her belief. If I have left you to practice your religion without any disturbance, please don't carry my children along with you. This little story almost tore my family apart. When they initially started their love matters, it wasn't like that. They both agreed to stay on different religion without infringing on each others right to religion because of the bond of love between them, and of cause they maintained it until they had children that now became the bone of contention.

I was a living witness to everything that happened in my family. Every lady that got married to a christian was almost disowned by him. We had quite a rough living because of this. He would never allow his children to practice any other religion apart from Islam but some were taking by the mother already.

I think I learnt a good lesson from this. As a child that came from such family, I know what it entails to have a spilt religion in the family. In this wise, I would rather prefer to marry someone that has the same belief with me. I wouldn't want to risk what my parent did. What if they both weren't strong enough to manage the misunderstanding that ensue as a result of teaching the children individual religion.

Honestly, there is nothing wrong with marrying someone sharing different religion with me but to avoid unforseen marital complications, I would rather change plans while at shore than to set sail and sink at sea. Every one will like his or her children to practice his or her religion. That is where the issue will emantate. I will play safe and marry someone having the same belief as I do.

Thanks.

@beautychicks cares.

Sort:  

That's definitely a wise policy. When a couple doesn't share their religion it might work, but enter children and there could be trouble.

My parents were both of a different religion, my father being Presbyterian and my mother Catholic. My sisters and brothers were all baptized in the faith of my mother, however, I was initially baptized in the faith of my father because where they lived there was no Catholic church. The only contention I know of came more from the dislike of my father’s mother to my mother’s religion.

Upon arriving in Canada, I was subsequently baptized Catholic.

Now married, I am a non-practicing Catholic and my husband a non-practicing Lutheran.

Based on this experience, I would say yes, you can marry someone who doesn’t share the same religion.

However, out of respect that I do not have knowledge of all religions, I do believe problems can arise when beliefs are of totally different perspectives. That is, in my family, whether Catholic, Presbytarian, or Lutheran, they are all based on similar but different Christian type faiths and therefore share a common bond or base of understanding. To bring in beliefs that may be totally opposite would indeed be a problem.

My personal opinion though is that children should be made aware of all faiths and receive some education, however, when of an age of understanding, should be permitted to make their own choices and it not be forced upon them.

Thank you for your post and for being open to other view points.

Congratulations @beautychicks! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59