A love story that survived the sub-continent - Two decades of togetherness

in #love6 years ago (edited)

2015-3

That's me, Souvik, and my beautiful loving wife Deepsikha!

I am sharing our story on the occasion of the 6th anniversary of our wedding, which was yesterday the 17th of February. We got married this same day in 2012.

We are just 32, but we are together for more than two decades now!

Isn't it amazing, unbelievable even? In fact, I had never before thought about us this way. It's really unbelievable that the spark of childhood love if it can be called love at such a tender age has blossomed into such a beautiful relationship which did not just survive time but also a huge geographic distance of continental proportions in a time when there was no internet or mobile phone.

This is our story, not the full of it, but just a snapshot of a few things and some pictures.

Our story begins! It all started in 1996

We met in school when we were in Class VI. We were 11 years old back then. Our thing began maybe a year later when we were about 12 years. I am not sure I even understood what love was, it was perhaps a special friendship. I now know that it was much more special in Deepsikha's mind and heart and over the next few years she fell in love with me.

On my part, I liked her really but was more busy playing cricket and fooling around with my other friends.

Twist in the tale

Things were going great. I slowly started to feel that she treated me differently and I also felt there was something different in the way I felt about her and behaved around her which was different from how I behaved around my other friends.

Things were going really well when suddenly their family decided to leave Siliguri, the city where we were growing up and move to Mumbai. India is a huge country, to give you an idea how far they moved, just see the below pic which should give you an idea.

slg-mum

This was a time before air travel became affordable and widely used, Mumbai was like really a continent away. In the late nineties when internet was just starting to become available in costly internet cafes, this movement was a really big deal. In fact, in the beginning, I don't think internet cafes had yet come up.

Letters, waiting and rare meetings

Like in those old movies, she started to write letters. I responded to a couple of them and then I think distance caught up with me and I stopped responding.

I later came to know, how hard this hit her. Every day she used to wait for my letters. Her growing up years, her teenage years were spent waiting for my letters. It's unimaginable and makes me feel very bad. I tell everyone, that if it was not for her, we would not be together now. All credit goes to Deepsikha, I am just incidental to this story.

She stopped writing letters, but she came back to Siliguri a few years later on vacation. She met me and told me how she felt about me. I wanted to make her happy, I wanted to say that she was special but I really was too practical and told her that the distance was really too great.

She visited Siliguri one more time and came to my house to meet. She said nothing of that sort and we spoke for some time. This was during the first year of my engineering college, almost 5 years after she had moved to Mumbai.

No contact

I completed college and moved to Kolkata (see below maps to understand where I moved and how far Kolkata is from Mumbai). For almost 3 years during my college days and my first year in Kolkata, we had no contact. I thought about her sometimes, but those memories felt like from another world, another time.

slg-kol

mum-kol

But she rocks

But Deepsikha is Deepsikha. She somehow found my mobile number and called me up. By this time, the mobile and internet revolution had caught up and distance was not such a big matter anymore. We started talking again. She was studying medicine she told me.

A year or so later, she visited Kolkata. We met and that's when I told her that I wanted to take a step forward and maybe we should take this a little more seriously.

Coincidence

We started talking over phone every day and we tried to meet when possible given the limitations of the distance.

One time, she was traveling from Mumbai to Siliguri. She took a flight to Kolkata and had a train from Kolkata to Siliguri. Refer the maps to get an idea. Coincidentally, I was traveling to Siliguri the same night and had tickets in the same train.

Our stars were truly aligning, it so turned out that the tickets which we had booked separately ended up giving us face to face seats on the train. It was awesome. Just imagine, what are the chances of something like this happening in a country of more than a billion people with tens of millions taking trains every day?

Happily ever after

Time went by and by now we were truly in love and wanted to spend our lives together.

I asked her to marry me in 2011 and we got married the following year.

wedding

From our wedding album

And now we live happily ever after, in Kolkata….

Below are some of our pictures. Unfortunately, we don't have pictures from our childhood…. those days are precious memories to be seen through our minds eyes.

2011

2011, Mumbai

2012-kerala

2012, From our Honeymoon in Kerala

2013, Goa

2015-matheran

2015, Matheran

A few more....

And more....

2017

2016

divider-red

upvote-share-resteem

crypto-empire
image-source

Sort:  

Now I kinda hate you a bit.

Man, ​you are Lucky. I wish I was lucky as You were with love.

Haha! Everyone is lucky in their own way bro... If you have not found your love yet, you will find in the future, mark my words

It's really an amazing story thanks for sharing with us......may you both be together forever....... pictures are really nice

thank you @universalpro for visiting and sharing such kind words...

this is really amazing bro ,also welcome to the steemy community like couple both U ,jay hind....

thanks @bhabishyata3... thank you for visiting

ur welcome bro ! :)

Hi Sir, you are very blessed with very beautiful wife and two decades together is amazing. God Bless

thanks for visiting and your kind words!

Beautiful story!

This gives someone like me hope that love actually exists ;>)

I remembered a girl that I 'loved' in 1997/1998 when I was 15/16 years old. We met in France (on holidays) and hung out for a week or two. I felt heartbroken when we had to leave that camping place although we hand't even kissed.

Afterwards, we started writing each other letters. It was the time before mobile phone and email. She only lived about 35 km away but for me, us, that felt too far away at that time, being high school kids.

I saw her one more time, a year and some months later. Things were (feeling) different then and it came to be our very last meeting. I still think of her as my first love though.

My story is incomparable with yours but it just puts things in perspective.

Thanks for sharing! :>)

appreciate your kind words... no love story is lesser than the other my friend.... that you remember her... that she is a sweet memory is a great story in itself...
On a different note, I see that you voted on this post. The vote is wasted because the post is past payout :)

This is such a sweet story souvek. Thanks to your wife she didn't give up on ya. ^^ I admire her selflessness of loving you without expecting anything in return.

She doesn't have an assurance that you will love her back more than she does but it was a leap of faith from her. Blind Faith, blind love. I admire her deeply.^^

yes, as I always say, credit goes to her :)

She's a keeper ^^

Ooh my gosh! This is such a beautiful and lovely story. anyone who loves "love" will simply enjoy your story and I thank you so much for sharing this with us. I can't get over the distance and no communication, and she is just gorgeous!!! Like way too better looking for you, I might add. Muahahahahaah
You are a lucky man SVK -- So many congrats on your love and Anniversary. Hugs. Eagle. xx

Do not underestimate me, I almost look like Stallone 😂
But yes, I am lucky indeed!

Stallone ... buahahahahahaah
Yes, you are lucky!! xx

Hey he looks pretty handsome too! Don't worry @svkrulze I got your back :P

Beautiful story, and a lesson in persistence perhaps ;). Cheers to the happy couple!

Dood you’re like 6 days late bauauuaua
Anyways that’s my comment and my joke with svk! :p

You are a lucky man to have such a beautiful lady in your life. Happy Anniversary to both of you.

Thanks bro :)

Congratulations man, you're a really cute couple.

And now you're also immortalized in the blockchain.... info to never fade, like your love or the memory I have of my first kiss with that blonde from my village... aaaah but I digress :P

Haha, the first kiss always has a special place... It's memory never fades, like the blockchain...

Happy Couple... praying for both of u

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67508.70
ETH 3753.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73