HOW I FOUND PURPOSE

in #love7 years ago

Story time! And this time, the main character in the story is ME. This is not a fancy article with fancy words designed to inspire. This is also not a 101 about how to live your life. Nope! Then what the hell is this story doing on your blog on a Winspirational Wednesday, you might ask. I just had it very strong in me to write this. I am not someone who you can take inspiration from. I am as damaged as they come. But I'm certain, that some things about my story are worth learning from.

So it all started with my 12th grade result, which one might say was satisfactory, but for me it was very bad. I had screwed up big time. Growing up I was a bright kid. Always managed to secure good grades in school despite being in the playground for the most part of my childhood. So 12th grade was a painful exception. I somehow managed to get into a respectable engineering institute which was a big relief. But the relief was short-lived as time flew by and my first semester results were out. Replay of 12th grade- I had passed but my grade wasn't even remotely satisfactory. I was ashamed to divulge my marks to others but I had to. After one year of consistently bad grades, tears, fits of depression and bouts of anger I found out that I had no future in engineering.

In addition to being a horrible daughter, I was now a family disappointment. That was one helluva promotion. Welcome to reality! I was broken from the inside; all dreams of a bright future crushed. I was tired of being a loser and started working hard at my studies, in the hopes to secure a better grade the next time. My grades improved, but they weren't nearly as good as I wanted them to be. I was tired of working hard at something I hated. My hardwork was forceful and just a feeble attempt at something I clearly wasn't meant to do.

Tired of this pathetic routine, I decided to start a blog. And that my friends, was the best decision I could've made. I wrote a couple short stories and published them on the blog. My friends all liked my style of writing and so I continued with my work as a part time, amateur writer. My writing gave me hope. Getting amazing responses for my stories and articles gave me a respite from my meaningless hustle. I was happy again. The future seemed a little less uncertain I once again felt like I had a purpose. I told my parents that engineering wasn't my cup of tea and they agreed. They suggested that I do, what I can do best; read books and write. Unicorns were finally making a comeback to my rainbow island!

I learnt just one thing from this entire experience; Do what you love. Working hard at what you hate will only take you from bad to mediocre. And mediocre work will earn mediocre money. And no one pays money for mediocre. Everyone wants the best. Do what you love and make it to the top of the ladder. They'll pay you handsome for what you do best, and mediocre for all of the rest. Sometimes settling for something less will seem more comfortable and less painful than following your dreams. But remember this, staying on the ground is a lot easier than flying and risk falling back down. But better fly, see the world and fall back down, than stay down and see the same thing your entire life.

Hola people,
This article is as raw and as unrefined as it gets. I hope that it was of some value to you and inspired you to follow your dreams. Let me know in the comments below if you've encountered any similar situations in your own life. Stay tuned for Winspirational Wednesdays guys. Love you all and thank you for all the support and wonderful comments. Without your positive reinforcement I would never have been able to continue doing this for long.
Lots of love

Sort:  

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @marcovanhassel. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @soorajy to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @OriginalWorks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Good to read that you found a passion in life @soorajy! Steemit is perfect for blogging. I do recommend that you use 5 tags on each of your posts. This will get you more exposure.

And have you heard of Steemfollower ?

You can sign up by clicking the link, and using your Steemit login name and posting key ( you can find your posting key under Wallet ->permissions)

Good luck with your future blogs!

thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67144.34
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69