“Ih Man An Ih Pan” ~A tale of OPPORTUNITY~

in #love6 years ago

“Ih Man An Ih Pan”
“Ih Man An Ih Pan”

Hiding outside the house, behind the window, the little girl shed her tears of jealousy, she was accidently eavesdropping her cousin reading a book. The little girl was on her way to bring her father’s buffalo to feed on grass when she passed at her cousin’s house. That’s her everyday routine, while her peers are off to school or at home finishing their homework.

12d03df737cdffd09d0577b92f5d7173--oxen-water-buffalo.jpg
Image source
That was back in the 1940’s. Where usually (not all) the eldest daughter of the Kadazandusun people of Borneo, doesn’t have the opportunity to attend school. She needs to stay at home to help with chores and to take care of her younger siblings and even to help at the paddy field under the hot sun.

IMG_20180202_150648.png
My lovely dodu (grandmother). She is now in her late 70’s. She never had the opportunity to learn at school, which she is still sad about. But for sure, she is the smartest woman ever. She knows how to read and write (my grandfather taught her), she knows calculation very well. She will count for you in her head, and give you the answer straightaway.

My dodu is also my source of motivation, she said there is nothing wrong with me, I am just taking my time to walk on my own. She doesn’t believe the brain injury. Typical dodu of mine.

So..
“Ih Man An Ih Pan”
Dodu, what does that means? Have you figure it out?

Dodu said “A MAN AND HIS PAN. Songuhun kusai om poizuk dau”. She even translated it to her own local language.

If-opportunity-doesnt-knock-build-a-door.jpg
Image source

°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°

I am hoping to spread love and hope to you, and hopefully some cuteness. At the same time to keep my mummy and daddy motivated and strong as a superman! Do follow me. Here is my introduction the other day.

A baby on Steemit!

PicsArt_01-31-12.38.12.jpg

@noahstory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51