My True Dream Wedding

in #love5 years ago

Ever since I was a child, I find weddings so magical. I had watched enough fairy tales to complete my very own dream wedding.

Google Image

But growing up, I learned to pay bills and budget everything to meet my needs from paycheck to paycheck. I also learned to save not just for my future but for my family's needs as well.

I grew up being an independent woman; I wanted to be comfortable providing for myself because it was when I learned that this life ain't similar to Disney stories, I began to learn that not everyone will ever get married.

I was romantic and is still is but in the back of my mind I have always thought to never depend on a man's pocket. Thus, despite of unlearning some childhood beliefs, I still yearned for love and marriage.

Google Image

And yes, finally, after so many heartbreaks, I am now happily in love with the man I am going to marry. I have already disclosed this news in my previous blog, My heartbreaks led me to this man!

But things went on a downhill. Just when I thought my heart and body is ready to get married, my pocket and bank accounts were no longer cooperating. I know you would say, that I should probably either wait for another couple of years or let the man do all the spending. But I beg to disagree. First, yes church wedding can wait but there is civil wedding which requires a very considerable amount of preparation in terms of time, money and even guests. Second, marriage is a union of two individuals. And while it is a common practice that the groom and his family has to spend money for the wedding, some traditions may no longer be applicable now. Also, the financial struggle does not just start and end on the wedding day but all through out the journey as a couple and so I say that it has to be the woman and the man to carry the responsibilities. And so, I changed my plans a bit. That includes, considering civil wedding first prior to church wedding.

Google Image


Top 3 Advantages of Civil Weddings

Google Image

1. Finances-It is no longer a secret that civil weddings are way more cheaper than church weddings. In my country, Philippines, there are still a number of people who were left more of traditional than practical and it's totally okay. What's not okay is to think that civil weddings are less romantic, and less genuine than church weddings. I am a Roman Catholic myself and so I receive this kind of arguments very often than necessary. But regardless which wedding you got married with, the important is you both truly love each other, value each other, respect each other and honest with each other. After all, love is what truly matters, tradition just comes after.

2. Intimacy- This is in relation to number one, finances. The lesser the visitors, the lesser the expenses as well. Also, you would not want to invite a huge crowd but won't be supporting you two through out your journey. Marriage is considered to be the highest form of relationship status. It is a big event to celebrate the union of two parties. It matters the most, so be wise to invite those who matters to both of you. And lastly, a more intimate ceremony would focus more on the celebration of the union rather than a mini acquaintance and/or a mini reunion among visitors.

3. Civil Rights- It is in the law that dictates equal partnership. Apart from that, is the legal rights of the child unborn or born on the day of the ceremony. It is always better to be legal than anything else, right? hehehe


Before ending this blog, let me share a very personal profound lesson I learned as I was preparing myself for this civil wedding.

Not having the church wedding I have always dreamed of and considering civil wedding first, does not really make it less of a dream. I am about to marry a very good and responsible man. What else could I ever ask for? It is not about the reception, the expenses, the gifts, the visitors, or how dreamy it looks, but it is about who you are going to marry with. The love and promise you have for each other is more than enough to call it a dream wedding!


This has been @nikkabomb saying, "My true dream wedding is not about getting married in a church with the grandest decors but it is about getting married with a loyal man, a true king indeed."

Nikka Ganzan, the author

I was destined to be a successful civil engineer but my heart belongs to literature. And if I have learnt something from the past years of struggles, it is maybe this - "Sometimes a leap of faith is what you need in order to find happiness. Because if you are not to become a happy person, then what's the purpose of life then?".

I tried working in an industry with the use of my maximum skills in my chosen field and I was earning big (bigger than what I expected), yet I was not happy. In between those times, I found deeper and stronger interest in my first and second love - writing and photography.

And so here I am, in my little corner in the blockchain. I hope you had a good read and check out more here ---> @nikkabomb. Lovelots.

Sort:  

Congratulations @nikkabomb! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 60 posts. Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76