What is Love [Baby don't hurt me, don't hurt me, no more...]

in #love7 years ago

Yes. I have the nerve to write about this. Because I'm a hopeless romantic.


Romantic art from Bønnen Café on Amagerbrogade, Copenhagen

What is love really?

The Philosophy School of the University of Copenhagen [I was passing through to go to -my- Theology School the other day] is getting indeed very...philosophical, with 'Love' written in Greek and Traditional Mandarin Chinese...

Let's take the romantic love 'cause if we include God's love, parental love, friendly love and so on this post will never end - seriously, it won't.

So yeah - love between partners. WHEN is it Love? How is the love shown and established?

Is love a foggy place?

Or is it an eternal blue sky?

Both pictures in Copenhagen - how much that city changes huh...?

How do we know if it's really love?

Guess what - we never do.

That's why in Greek we have two words for love... LOVE [Agape] which technically means all kinds of love and EROS which means when you're IN love with someone. No -it's not the same. When you are IN love, you might never actually love and it's also a very selfish sentiment. You want the other person to be happy ONLY with you. They say that when you love you want them to be happy ANYWAY.

Well, selfless love between partners is really really hard to achieve in any case. But starting from being in love, to something deeper, how are we sure? And better yet, how do we KEEP the sentiment alive?

This post of mine is very much similar to another one I wrote a long time ago about Happiness - and I'll say exactly the same:

If you think I have the answer, you got me -'cause I certainly don't. Otherwise I wouldn't be tortured all these years.

I do have SOME answers though, if not THE -one and only- answer.
It will sound common and annoying but even True Love needs work. Nothing lasts forever unless we cultivate it - and love is exactly like that.
You need common goals, trust, happy memories in order to move on and establish this. It's not just hearts and flowers until the end of times. But it is doable.

I'm not some kind of expert but I do have -and not bragging here- an almost 20year experience in Love. So you expect we learn from our mistakes and the right time we do it the right way.

Guess again.

We just never learn when it comes to love. Love is not a business.

I turn back, looking towards my past, wondering what I could have done differently. The answer is nothing. Yes to all the mistakes. Yes to the problems, to the break ups, to the pain. Because I wouldn't be here today if it wasn't for all that. So I'm grateful and I wouldn't change a thing. But if I learned? Every time we fall in love it's like the first time so human nature tends to make us do the exact same mistakes UNLESS we change pattern - no, not pattern of behavior, partner pattern...

Are you dating the same person again and again? - Ex patterns

Yes, it is very usual to date people with the same characteristics 'cause that's what attracts you, but this way you end up making the same mistakes and eventually breaking up. If you're sick and tired of all this dating shit and you don't know what you're doing wrong, then try to do THIS:

Break the freaking pattern.

Date someone you never would - a different appearance or behavior. See what else is out there and plunge into it. You probably have 90% of success there - oh yeah, there's always that 10% that screws up all of your plans.

But...is that love then? Like a schedule...?

That's why I mentioned earlier that Love needs work. To some extent it has to be 'organized' in order to last forever. You can't just pray on it [and I'm a Theologian among other things, so please take this seriously...]
Because...

Love doesn't just grow on trees

Ok except this one I found today in Copenhagen - what a cute heart/love tree!

And then the reasons come...

If you're in a relationship and you wonder if you're in love, I got news for you: YOU'RE NOT -if you wonder, then it's not love.
If you're single looking for the next great love think this: Do you want to be with someone because you're a love person, you think you deserve it OR because society dictates so, your family is pressuring you to have kids because you're not getting any younger, you don't wanna be ALONE?
Questioning stuff is good sometimes. It makes you know what you have, what you want, and how to get it.

So yeah - what is Love in the end?

I don't know if I can actually give a definition -and I don't wanna use what other people said about it [Philosophers...oh well]. But maybe I can do that. I can say with certainty, what ISN'T love...

Ok, so what ISN'T love?

  1. Love isn't crying, begging, being in pain, suffering or feeling jealous.
  2. Love isn't being comfortable though either.
  3. Love forgives - but lovers don't, so yeah, lying is not love.
  4. Love isn't feeling unsafe, insecure and miserable.
  5. Love isn't shutting up.

For the end, the song you were all expecting...

...and a very favorite one which you sure weren't...

And remember: Whatever your case, be positive - you are not alone. There are people out there with the exact same problems as you so don't lose hope. And as I always say, don't forget to smile!

=======

Yours

Mean Mommy

meanmommy33.gif

Sort:  

Love is a splendid thing....Nice insight

It is isn't it...? ;)
Thank you :)

I relax.
love an powerful gift to us.
to unite a different mind with the couple. love that will not run out. power in life. @meanmommy

I am not sure I understand exactly what you mean, but yeah hopefully love won't run out :) And it is a gift, as long as we appreciate it!!! :D

hehe
i'm not very good at speaking english.
buddy.
visit my page.
I would be very happy if you visit it

Liked your post. Thanks.

ReSteemed it.
@ohicklin

Thank you! Glad you liked it ;)

The love song that's close to the reality of love is- this song- I think :)

But yeah I mean.. Nobody is perfect. It may sound narcissistic but I kinda want to find the male version of myself to get along, or who knows I might hate someone with my persona..

Haha I love that it's called Issues - so true! Such a cute song! :D
Might be a bit narcissistic but I get it - I used to say that too but lately I'm not sure it would work...because yeah, you might hate him anyway :P Imagine that! ahahaha!!!

Love is life

Love is smiling with another one

Love is having happy memories

Love is fighting!

Love is relaxing

Love is the reason we get out of bed

Love is the reason we work

Love is everywhere if you want to see it

Love is death


Ps: have you seen the movie collateral beauty with Will Smith?

No! Should I? I trust you with movies hehe ;)
And yes, I completely agree with all of that... ;)

Love is all we need :-)

Great post @meanmommy33.

I like how you say what Love is NOT.

For me, Love is ...

  • coming home to the same kind face everyday,
  • the steady and constant knowledge that my life is always going to be this way
  • patient
  • unexpectant
  • supportive
  • constant

💓💜💓

Thank you girl!
I LOVE -since we're talking about it haha- how you put it! Yes, Love is all that for me too - thanks for making me realize it!!! <3
[just commented on your post hahaha and then I saw your comment :D :D :D ]

i agree with you @meanmommy33 on a lighter mood due, true love is not just about changing pattern but i will advice you fall in love with someone who knows your values, someone that want to be with you no matter what, someone that will tell you that you are beautiful even without makeup, above all someone with the fear of God. there is nothing like a perfect relationship every relationship have it ups and down but if you both work hard perfection is sure, love have to deal with how you feel.... "It only takes two to make it true."

Beautiful words ;) And I have that someone already who tells me I don't need make up... @creutzy <3

perfect you have the biggest gift in the world lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.33
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66