LoveFriday - I quit my job and I'm going after my dream [EN] | Despedi-me e vou fazer o que gosto [PT]

in #love7 years ago (edited)

I've wished it a lot and worked for it in the past 4-5 years, and it is finally happening!!

I'm going to work with invasive plants, its management and recovery of native vegetation!!

Eu desejei muitissímo e trabalhei para isso nos últimos 4-5 anos, e finalmente está a acontecer!!

Vou trabalhar com plantas invasoras, a sua gestão e recuperação da vegetação nativa!!

DSC_5565_ed.jpg

Figure 1 - Acacia dealbata (silver wattle) | (mimosa)

This is one of the main invasive plants in Portugal and one of the species I will work with, Acacia dealbata (silver wattle).

I can say this new is pushing my emotions to the limit, as it will imply some changes in my daily life (that I will deal with time), but it is for a good reason!!

The first one is that I QUIT my present work!!

Today is my last day!!

Esta é uma das maiores plantas invasoras em Portugal, e uma das espécies com que vou trabalhar, Acacia dealbata (mimosa).

Posso dizer que esta novidade tem posto as minhas emoções no limite, pois implica algumas alterações na minha rotina (que terei de aprender a lidar com o tempo), mas é por um bom motivo!!

O primeiro é que DESPEDI-ME do meu trabalho!!

Hoje é o meu último dia!!


Figure 2 - This is how I look currently at work | Isto é o meu aspeto no trabalho atual (source)

In the past three years, I've been working in a support contact center, while I was getting the master degree in Conservation Biology.

It worked fine, at least in the beginning​. I enjoyed to learn about health insurances and to train some communication skills, and voice tones! Since I finished the master degree, almost a year ago, I felt I needed to get out, but didn't find any better opportunity​, until now!!

Nos últimos três anos, tenho trabalhado num serviço de apoio ao cliente (call-center ou contact center, que é o nome pomposo), enquanto terminava o grau de meste em Biologia da Conservação.

Até correu bem, pelo menos no início. Eu gostei de aprender sobre seguros de saúde, e de treinar competências a nível da comunicação e do tom da voz. Mas desde que acabei o mestrado, quase à um ano, que sentia que tinha de sair dali, mas não tinha encontrado nada melhor, até agora!!

This is how I will probably look next week! | Este deverá ser o meu aspecto na próxima semana!

IMG_5495.JPG

Figure 3 - Field work: Taking notes about the vegeteation | Trabalho de campo: tirando notas sobre a vegetação

IMG_8288.JPG

Figure 4 - Field work: Taking GPS coordinates | Trabalho de campo: tirando coordenadas GPS

IMG_4713.JPG

Figure 5 - Field work: Taking more notes about the vegeteation | Trabalho de campo: tirando mais notas sobre a vegetação

IMG_5045.JPG

Figure 6 - Field work: Proudly posing close to native vegetation (Chamaerops humilis, Pistacia lentiscus, Olea sylvestris in Algarve region) | Trabalho de campo: posando orgulhosamente junto da vegetação nativa (Chamaerops humilis, Pistacia lentiscus, Olea sylvestris na zona do Algarve

Working with plants makes me happy!! | Trabalhar com plantas faz-me feliz!!

Have a great weekend and let us know what made you happy this week. Share some love with us and use the #LoveFriday tag!!

Tenham um ótimo fim-de-semana e partilhem conosco o que vos deixou feliz durante esta semana. Partilhem algum amor e usem a tag #LoveFriday!!

(P.S. - Somehow I didn't use #LoveFriday as first tag...my bad! | Não sei porque raio não usei #LoveFriday como primeira tag...não era suposto! )


Let's look for love!! More love please!!(EN)

This is what I would like to see shared under the #LoveFriday:

  • Positivity: That's the main purpose!! In a world were sad stories are pumping everywhere, sharing positivity is even more precious;
  • Romantic or not: There is plenty of room for romantism, but not only. It can be a mom and daughter caring gesture, simply someone helping another one, and so on, but proper for all ages (no NSFW please);
  • Stories, music, photography and any kind of art related: The window of possibilities is enormous, feel free!

Vamos procurar por amor!! Mais amor por favor!! (PT)

Gostaria que na tag #LoveFriday fosse partilhado:

  • Positividade: Deve ser o mote principal!! Num mundo onde as más notícias são mais do que muitas, a partilha de situações positivas é fundamental;
  • Romântico ou não: É claro que se pode dar azo ao romantismo, mas não só. Poderão partilhar gestos de ternunra entre mãe e filho(a), ou simplesmente alguém a auxiliar outra pessoa, entre outros, desde que adequado a todas as idades (nada de NSFW por favor);
  • Histórias, música, fotografia e qualquer tipo de arte: A janela de possibilidades é grande, sintam-se à vontade!


Thanks to @steemitboard for creating this awesome badges!




Please do not forget to check the other daily photography challenges:
Weekday Challenges:

Other challenges

Sort:  

Congratulations on beginning a new job that will make a difference in the world and in your life!

Ahh, finally I can reply! I tried on eSteem, without success!

This job is already making a huge difference in my life, hope I can make a positive difference in the world as well! :) Thanks!

I suspect you will make a huge difference!

And maybe you already know this, but If you ever have trouble connecting on #esteem go to settings, and down at the bottom where it says server? Change to a different server until you find one that works for you.

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

You got a 0.33% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

Tem avondo de penar!

You are very brave. And following our dreams should be a priority for all of us:) however, sometimes society makes them hard to be accomplished. Good luck with the new opportunity!

I had to try! Thank you very much!!

Parabéns! Tem que fazer o que te deixa feliz mesmo! Boa sorte!

Wow that is some change. And congrats on going after your dreams.

Now I know how come you know so much about plants :)

Big change indeed, I'm still adapting, and guess I'll keep in that mode for the next couple of weeks!

Wonderful new field of work, I wish you happy times!

Thank you very much!

awww cheers to new beginnings! happy friday :) i think you should love what you do :) being brave to follow your passions is inspirational

Thank you very much! It's still hard to believe! ;)

Nunca é tarde para seguirmos os nossos sonhos! Por isso so te desejo o melhor nesta nova fase da tua vida.

Obrigada! Até parece mentira!! :)

Congratulations!
am so happy for you
I think it's very important to get to do what we really want more so - what we really love
Cheers! to working but not really feel like it but more of playing ^ ^

Yes, I guess I will feel this like a challenge: "how to make things work", like a play game without obligations!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46