5 things from your "Beginner Brain" you should keep foreversteemCreated with Sketch.

in #love6 years ago (edited)

575930_578949152136032_2060439327_n.jpg

When I began Circus, I was coming at it from a theatre perspective. I had my actor lens and my dancer background and then I suddenly saw all of these things dangling in the air that I could use in my story telling. AMAZING RIGHT?

Well...first I had to learn how to climb the damn things. My first time trying to climb a silk was disaster! I had no upper body strength and couldn't get the technique. I actually fell off the trapeze and my best friends who weren't even dancers were so good at it. However, I didn't leave feeling discouraged, I left feeling challenged and inspired and in my guts I knew I had to learn this skill.

Because I was so new to circus I didn't have any baggage around "what circus is supposed to be" I just knew I loved it and I went all in. When I did acquire the necessary strength and felt ready to audition for all the amazing aerial theatre that Toronto had to offer I realized...

THERE WASNT ANY!

Yes there was circus work happening but it was limited and competitive (there are lots of great circus performers who were way ahead of me) and I wanted text and aerial intertwined the way I imagined in my head. When I realized such projects weren't happening on the regular I decided I had to make my own.

316223_574661105898170_1732376065_n.jpg

I created a show called FRAGMENTS (the photos feature here are from that show) with an amazing group of Badass Babes and did the show in a crossfit gym with 12 foot ceilings. Normally the allure of circus is the height and wild tricks but I envisioned circus being used in a different way. I wasn't totally sure how but this was the gift of being a beginner. My fresh perspective, my passion and my HUGE dreams that weren't squashed by any type of reality yet.

600624_10151525511608565_520687904_n.jpg

The show ended up selling out and getting extended and I was actually able to pay people! It was the kick starter for my professional career and I still look back to that show and think HOLY CRAP I did all of that when I was 22 and knew "nothing"

With that story in mind...here are some BEGINNER BRAIN thoughts I think we should all carry with us no matter how experienced we become!

  • Passion and enthusiasm is contagious
    When you are around someone who is new to something their love and excitement for whatever they are doing is HUGE. There is a tangible vibration that everyone wants to be a part of. Don't lose this! It's easy to become jaded, but continue to find ways to stay charged in what your doing so that the world will continue to flock to you and your work.

  • Dream BIG
    We've all heard this before and then that practical part of the brain jumps in with all of your experience to shut you down. On your first draft of something, or brainstorming session let the ideas we HUGE and impossible. A beginner wouldn't know any better and would throw anything out there. Think like that, let it be wild and light your soul on fire and chances are with all the experience you've gained you'll actually be able to make it happen.

  • Be Kind
    When we're starting out at something new we are typically on our best behaviour. We have to ask for lots of favours and tips from more experienced people to get projects going and to get into the communities we want. Keep that kindness and generosity alive no matter how far you get in your field. It's easy to treat someone new as a nuance or to not help them, but remember you were a beginner once and kindness goes a long way and lasts in people's memories forever.

  • You don't have to know everything to start
    When you aren't a beginner anymore in most aspects of your life it can be hard to get out of your comfort zone and challenge yourself to do something new. We make excuses about why we need to do 5 other things before we start the real thing we want. For example: When people want to try circus they often say "Oh I have to go to the gym first" NO YOU DON'T! Just come and start doing the actual thing you want to get good at!

  • Love is stronger than Fear
    When I was in my first circus class and couldn't do anything my LOVE for what I was doing and what I envisioned was so much stronger than my fear of failure. Failure in fact- wasn't even on the table. Beginners chose LOVE and then as we evolve we become afraid of losing what we have or going through the pain of failure. Failure is inevitable, it will sting and it will catch us off guard but I promise if you chose love over fear you will find your way back to that beginner brain that is truly in tune with what you want.

Much love Steemians
xo

Sort:  

LOVE your "Beginner Brain" theme and practical tips for keeping it whole, active and present as we create each of our moments.

The power of a beginner's passion is real. Thank you for your succinct reminders, @lifesacircus.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I’m so glad it resonated with you 🙏🏼 Remembering to be a beginner I find also gives me permission to find new things even in the jobs I’ve been doing for a while!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Love Love Love your Beginner Brain thoughts! I couldn't agree more with all of them. I used to co-own a circus, and I really miss the creativity with bringing the circus arts into other artforms. We did some pretty unusual stuff, even including piercing and suspension. My goal was to bring us into new stories and locations so we could tell the tale using more than the body.

Keep doing what you are doing, we need more of it in the world!

So cool! Yes- rethinking what circus is or any art form is so important. It’s important to know the “rules” otherwise you can’t break, bend or twist them! And especially with circus- it’s important to be strong and flexible so you can be safe doing whatever variation you want! I hope you still find some time to circus!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes! There is so much you can learn from circus arts! I have only really made time for some fire hopping over the last few years, but it is time to get back into some other things. I am feeling the call to make some new stilts and get back into suspensions. We shall see what happens! Thanks for sharing your circus wisdom!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lifesacircus from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43