Radical Self Love

in #love6 years ago

Unconditional self-acceptance is at the core of a peaceful mind.



source


One of the most powerful methods of self transformation is the willingness to love yourself.

For some of us (raises hand), self-love is a challenge and requires a good deal of practice in order to shift the patterns of deeply ingrained self-loathing.

Where does this self-hatred come from? Is it the old controlling mythology that we are sinners from the start? That we are unpure, unworthy? Does it stem from cruel peers or a lonely/traumatic childhood? Is it cultural conditioning that makes it more acceptable to put yourself down and make fun of yourself rather than to be proud of who you are?

Probably all of the above.

line

Free Love.


Most of us are not taught to love ourselves, yet this is our birthright. Love is natural, as @trucklife-family so beautifully explained in her last post, Free to Love, Free to Be.

I love blogging on the Steem blockchain because while I’m participating in community initiatives and falling into rabbit holes I come across perspectives that inspire and transform my own ideas. I am reminded that I’m not alone, that it’s okay to think the ways I do, and that there is a collective of humans breaking free from limiting beliefs.

The themes of @eaglespirit’s #FreedomFridays have been powerful catalysts, and I find the topics carrying over into my other posts. This week’s theme was Freedom to Love, last week’s was Freedom of Sexuality. Some fantastic conversations have come from these.

Yesterday, caught in a whirlpool of questions directed at myself, I was shedding skin and facing fears, which @anomadsoul encouraged in this week’s #roadtosteemfest theme.

But by being willing to take my questioning mind into the scariest parts of myself, and looking to others for examples of empowered thinking and living (@zen-art, @metametheus, @soyrosa, @riverflows, and so many others), I kept moving through the discomfort and actively changing my mind and emotions.

Then I came across @ura-soul’s post on personal templates and human evolution. This was late last night, the last thing I read before I shut the laptop and walked away, ready to shift my mental and emotional state. That post gave me yet another perspective and reminder that my ongoing quest to reprogram my mind is a worthy one. A vital one.

line

“I love myself.”


In the process of self-inquiry, I uncover places in my psyche that are scary, but the more I work to identify where the hurt and fear come from, the less power they have.



source


Late last night, after a day of anxiety, I shifted gears. Maybe it was hanging out with friends in @thealliance pow-wow, practicing songs I’ll be singing on the Night of Steem at Steemfest3. I get to sing to my Alliance family each Friday evening. We share with each other, laugh together, and hearing friends’ voices is such a soothing thing.

But the biggest shift came when I finally went to bed.

As I waited for my mind to stop turning, I practiced self-love.

No, not that kind of self-love. ;) I’m not referring to masturbation here, though that is a healthy expression of self-fulfillment and one that deserves to be free of the stigma that surrounds it. I’m talking about a mental, emotional, spiritual approach to self-love, that extends into the physical realm.

I began repeating mantras in my mind. First I worked with this one:

I love myself. I accept myself.

These simple words cycled through my overactive brain, and I added visualizations, bringing healing energy through. I connected to source (in this case Divine Mother), and opened to receive love into every single cell of my body.

I choose my whole, healed state.
I trust my body. I trust myself.

I slowed down my breathing, bathing in the brilliant blue healing light I brought through my body and being, washing away the turmoil of the day.

I am pure, the purest of the pure.
I am pure, the purest of the pure.
I am pure, the purest of the pure.
I accept my power,
I claim my power
I embrace my power
For there is only light to wield.

^^ I’ve been working with this one for a long time.

I often fall under the illusion that my innocence was gone from an early age—that I am “damaged goods,” so to speak.

This mantra helps me remember that I am divine, that I am inherently pure and truly powerful. It helps me not fear my power, but allow it to flow and be fed by the cosmic forces I connect with: the gold flame for acceptance, the blue flame as I claim my power, the rose-white light as I embrace the power of love.

Cradled by the light of Divine Mother and other guides I called in to assist me, I fell asleep in a state of peaceful self-acceptance.

line

A new day.


I awoke this morning free of the dread that filled me yesterday. It’s okay that I went into the shadows, but I’m glad I also chose to bathe in the light.

Practicing self-love helps me remember who I truly am, and take another step forward in my relentless, radical, wondrous self-evolution.

How about you? How do you practice self-love?

Thank you for reading.

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do some research and cast your votes!

Thank you to ALL the witnesses who contribute to the stability and evolution of the Steem Blockchain! You are most appreciated.

alliance banner

Sort:  

We often hear about mind control but few people ever stop to realize that we each have the ability to control our own minds, other people don't unless we allow them to do it.
Good to see that you have that figured out and know the value in it. If a person can't love themselves why should they expect others to love them?

so happy you are grabbing a lot of info from freedomfriday and some from those in the small collective. keep on keeping on as they say ... glad to hear you tried the mantras before sleep and woke up feeling a shift. wishing you the best for SF3!

Such an interesting read for me, and it all makes such good sense, I have to admit thats probably I do not do well loving myself

Is it the old controlling mythology that we are sinners from the start? That we are unpure, unworthy...

Buuuuu and more buuuu to this, gives me the creeps and I am sure it does the same to you. We are bombarded with it and it is at the very core of western Catholic based society... buuuuu....

You know, sometimes the shadows help us to appreciate the light more. I am glad you reminded yourself that you love yourself and strengthened that love even more. Whenever you need some help with it just remember that I love you too 💚

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 114 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank-you 😔🙏🏽💕.

I’m having all of the feels this morning. It seems I’m coming across all the posts that have guidance for me.

Struggling with self-love at present. For me, I’m not certain trying to find the source of the wound is the right approach at the moment... I just get up in an endless search and nothing changes. I need to find a way to shift it.

💜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh this is so important and I'm so glad you have a self live practice that brings you relief. It's just brain habits you can change, promise. I love the hands on heart and talking to yourself as if you are your own best friend. What would you say to comfort a friend? It's okay babe, you are beautiful, you are doing your best, it's okay, you've got this, you are strong and kind and LOVELY x

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm bummed that I missed the resteem window on this post... It's absolutely fantastic and spot on. I love the phrase radical self love, as it takes an out of the box way of thinking because it is so counter to the western conditioning and mindset. But immensely important for those who want to find who they are inside! Thank you for the mantra, it's absolutely beautiful. This is also a topic near to my heart, and I have found that practicing heart brain coherence really helps, but the techniques are so similar to what you described above I have a feeling you are already doing it. 😊 Following, and upvoting. Thanks for this beautiful post.

Xx ToL

Thank you for the thoughtful reply! 💞

Great post. Sounds to me like the initial framing of a powerful new song.
Really Love the pic you found to go with it!
K

What an amazing post that I totally missed due to some traveling. Gosh I love it. I need to get better at it as well. Me being overweight right now is one of the ugliest things I keep beating myself up about - but why? This is what my body 'does for me' when I sit on the couch more often due to circumstances. No I can't walk a lot, or take a run, so why this 'hate' for myself? Just an example, it's awful, and we should find ways to get ahead of it. I'll practice some loving words in a few hours, before falling asleep. Thank you for the inspiration <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77