🔥 Gaining Self-Confidence 🔥

in #love7 years ago (edited)

If you have been following me, you know that I love to write about the pursuit of happiness. I’m constantly writing about how to find happiness. Part of being happy is having self-confidence in yourself. To truly look at yourself, feel good about yourself and love yourself.

21074339_10156524245907926_856182823_n.jpg

Low self-confidence can lead to poor decision making. It can cause you to be easily influenced under peer pressure, and even disrespect your own wishes. As adolescence, you often see this in substance-abuse, drinking to fit in. As we get older, we tend to grow out of some of these practices, but there still may be lingering effects of low self-confidence.

True confidence, comes from within. Here are a couple of ideas you can apply to your life to help eliminate low self-confidence.

Be proud of being different
Let’s be honest with ourselves… we are all a bunch of wierdos. Yup, its true I said it, I just called you weird, and so what? Being different and unique is awesome! How boring would it be if we were all the same? Don’t be scared to let people see who you really are. If the people around you don’t like you, well then, they “aren’t” your people. Don’t worry about them, they are probably just boring as f***. When you embrace who you truly are, people will naturally be attracted to you, because you are being true to yourself.

Don’t compare yourself
Comparing yourself to others will only make you feel inadequate and never “good enough.” I know it’s tempting to stick to a made-up timeline in your head on “what you should being doing at this age” but don’t. Remember we are all on our unique journey. Life will take you where you are meant to go, so don’t worry about trying to do down the same path as someone else. You will only cause yourself more stress.

Shoot for the Moon
Work towards a life goal. What are your dreams and desires? Write them down, plan, and then pursue. Nothing feels better than having the confidence and believing in yourself. If you set your mind to it, and you really want something, you will get it. All you need to do is really go for it! Remember, even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.

Fake it until you make it
So, you can’t seem to shake off the low confidence… that’s okay, it takes time. Envision the confidence in you, and pretend you have it. The more you believe, act and feel confident, the more you will become that. Positive thinking and willpower can really go a long way. The more your practice, the better you get. Sooner than you know it, you are confident and it is real and genuine.


21076917_10156524239032926_501175603_n.jpg
Love,
Karen

Sort:  

True. But I often worry this positive-thinking "confidence-boosting" trend pushes us to the other extreme, where we refuse to see things from the perspective of another, to correct our faults ("I'm perfect just the way I am"), to improve our skills ("there's no better or worse, just different", "I'm not a worse piano player than Beethoven, I play just as well even tho this is the first time I touched the piano"), etc. So some moderation is needed, I think, otherwise we risk becoming self-confident unburstable bubbles.

ahh that's a great point! Like all things, nothing is all good or bad. It is a fine line from feeling good and confident about yourself vs. being arrogant and blinded by ego.

Thanks for the awesome comment and different perspective! I enjoyed it.

Motivational post, thank you @karensuestudios. Keep up the good posts.

Very motivational post. Thankyou for sharing. :)

Awesome post. Being proud of being different was the one it took me longest to learn. When I started embracing my own personality I started getting a ton happier.
Cheers. Thanks for your awesome posts.

aww thanks for your positive comment! :) Cheers!

I love your positive attitude! Keep up your posts, I really enjoy them😁
Upvoted and following🤗

Great post as always, my friend. You are a very wise friend

aww thanks for all of your support! :)

Thanks for sharing your advice. Self-confidence is important and this helps :)

Thanks for reading! Glad you enjoyed the post.

Self confident is essential for success...another great pose from you

Wonderful message. Self confidence is so important for success in life. I'm only just beginning to find mine and it's making a huge difference already!

it's a journey! But I'm happy for you! :)

Awesome post!!

aww danks 01! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40