Who I'm delegating to these days, and a @Yusaymon Appreciation Month Re-Cap

in #love7 years ago (edited)

A couple of months ago, @stellabelle started an initiative. Her idea, in response to all of vote selling on this platform, was to encourage whales to delegate to promising Steemians, free of charge. Especially with the value of steem jumping so high lately, it makes it even a little harder for new users to get on their feet here. Both @wwf and @fulltimegeek joined in on this initiative, you can check out posts they've published about it here:

@stellabelle decided to delegate 5000sp to me back then, and @fulltimegeek followed suit matching all of her delegations, while adding a number of his own. This left me with 10k delegated SP!!! (WOWZA) I have a lot of gratitude towards these two, although I've never had the chance to chat with @fulltimegeek, all I can do is be grateful, I suppose. Not only has this allowed me to reward many users with bigger votes than I could have offered before, but it also helps my account to grow by about 10sp a week. <3

Before this came about I was hosting a contest called:

@yusaymon appreciation moonth

As many of you are already aware, @yusaymon is a talented and dedicated artist, as well as an Outstanding Steemian. He's been on steem for almost a year now, and was sustaining his life in the Dominican Replublic with his steem rewards. He's always been a great guy to me, and for the community, as well as being one of my earliest friends on Steem.

(by: @juliakponsford)

In support, and celebration of my friend, I decided to host a contest. The rules were to make a post in honor of @yusaymon, celebrating his art. All the liquid rewards would go to Yu, and whoever the winner was would win a 200sp delegation for a month! Little did we know, but Yu had been saving up to pay for fees for a over staying his visa in the Dominican Republic, so he could return to his home in Venezela, and not have to go to jail for unpaid fines! So this effort came at the perfect time for him.

Partially as a result of the efforts of many amazing Steemians who also paid tribute in support of @yusaymon, he gathered together the funds needed, and is now back with his family in Venezuela. HOW INCREDIBLE IS THAT?

Recently, he also created this banner art for me as a thank you. :) But he's always been making free art for fellow steemians. That's part of why I started @Yusaymon Appreciation Month. You'll see in this, some art that he as made, as well as other artists here on steem. Some of my favorites since I've joined. Thank you @yusaymon, @shello, @juliakponsford, @stellabelle, @federacion45, and @creativesoul (left to right).

<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3

<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3

The contest came to a close, and I wasn't sure what to do. @vachemorte came up with this amazing submission, which is a movie trailer for @yusaymon:

(via: @vachemorte - Movie Trailer for Yusaymon Appreciation Month)

I decided, perhaps, the delegation should simply go to Yusaymon himself. Since, I had just been gifted with a large delegation, it was easy for me to bump the delegation to 400sp. When I mentioned this to Yu, he would hear nothing of taking the delegation for himself, and insisted I give it to @vachemorte. Well, I couldn't argue with that, and it seems we had both independently chosen the same winner. So I decided to give them both 400sp delegations!

About 6 weeks later, I saw this post:

@abh12345 has been running reports to keep track of how the people who received delegations were using their time on steem. A nice and transparent way to keep records for the delegators, and those of us who received the delegations alike. I saw this post, and thought about how still I had 1000sp left undelegated, and about how long it had been since my month delegation prize had been awarded. I decided to look over my delegations and think about what to do with them.

With sadness, I decided to remove the delegation from @vachemorte, and reduce @yusaymon's by half, so I could support some newer users in need of a boost. Here are my current delegations:

@shinyforest and @spiritualmax are both new users, that I met recently, who show a lot of promise. I decided to delegate 300sp to each of them.

@venalbe is being very helpful with the @slothicorn project, without much sp, so I also decided to delegate 300sp to him.

After that I decided to delegate 500sp to @minnowsupport since they helped me when I was getting my start, and continue to help many users who are coming on to steem.

This leaves me around 400sp left un-delegated. As this number grows, and I find more promising steemians, I may choose to delegate some more of it in the near future. But it seems like a good practice to keep some of it, for I know that my current awesome delegations can't last forever. However, I am extremely grateful for as long as they do, and will do my best to pay it forward.

Resources

Sort:  

Yes, I affirm the stars form letters eternally and says Inquiringtimes, thank you friend for everything. i love u

<3 you're my favorite, bud :)

I may write a post about it, but since you are talking about the Stewards of Gondor ... I went through each Steward and captured who has delegated steem to others. At the moment, @fulltimegeek has delegated 311347.799 steem to 49 individuals making up the Stewards of Gondor. The Stewards have since delegated 28679.707 steem to 93 others! It is flowing down hill (trickle economics).

That means 142 delegations have taken place and that does not included the thousands upon thousands of people that the Stewards of Gondor or the 93 others have upvoted and supported. It is indeed powerful. Bravo for doing what you are doing and thank you for sharing my work as well. I do appreciate that very much.

thank You for being a part of this! I've seen a few other steemians such as @anomadsoul are also joining in on the delegation parade. it's all very excellent! What a wonderful way for us to all help eachother out!

Indeed!

That is awesome! Being a total lotr fanatics c i wanna be a steward lol tho not for that loser in the movie that ran off the cliff on fire lol.
But seriously i have a big dtube show and blog I’ll be featuring this feb for the new celebrity big brother season as a former contestant in season 8 and new to steemit i would love to find some good friends that would assist in delegating to my dtube posts and blogs. I’ll be featuring strategy and real life conduct solves to their game play as I’ve been in that house on the cbs lot.

I still find it marvelous to see people delegating to other free of charge! It's a wonderful way to help!

xxx
Snekky

It's really such a delightful aspect to this platform! Not only has it allowed me to reward a multitude of different users whom otherwise I wouldn't have much to offer in the way of a vote, it also has helped my account to grow by about 12sp a week :)

blessings snekky <3

Agreed! Thanks for the shout out today on the radio show. I hope to be on your show next week to talk about big brother

This is a great steemit power story and I am really proud to have been part of this positive action on the platform. When you typed in the discord chat it's @yusaymon appreciation month it took me 2 second to process and I was I HAVE TO DO SOMETHING and there was no way I was not gonna. When I showed my trailer to Julia she started drawing the piece you have in your post right away. At the time we knew it was important but we discover later that it was even more so. Now YU is reunited with his family and it's a beautiful thing. I just heard him a few minutes ago singing a song and it's totally what I need in my feed. You rock, he rock! Steemit can be a sea of garbage sometime but it's nice little diamond like this whole thing that will make me stick to it. I thank you for the delegation you lend me and I fully approve of the new users that you delegate too, I know them and they are all worthy. MAD LOVE

Thank You, Sir. Also, I must thank you for the JuJu Gum movie, which I am still enjoying. However, I must say it's not always the best thing to watch at bedtime. Hehehe.

It was such a blessing how the community all came together in support and recognition of Yu. It seems everywhere I go, people love and celebrate his presence on steem.

How great that you're doing this @inquiringtimes, and I agree, @yusaymon is an amazing artist and great Steemian. I found him through one of your posts actually. AH, there's the circle 😊

Yu is epic, circles and triangles and all kinda shapes don't contain him.

:) we all gotta do what we can. Thanks for stopping by :)

Very true. He is epic, and very humble :) And if he is a friend of yours, he's a friend of mine ❤️️

Even that amazes me! Did you do that too @yusaymon?

No dear @misslasvegas just a giphy.com gif ;)

Oh good initiative. My best wishes to my paisano @yusaymon. I hope he came soon to Venezuela, our country, difficult situation.

yes, he is there now with his family. difficult situation, but good can come for his family, so that is good.

thanks @marting igual para ti amigo!

Yes! This is an awesome way to help others grow, an amazing initiative. And it's also great for the community, the people that get the delegations help others grow by voting and so on :)

hehe! yes, Yusaymon Appreciation Month started in October I think... We've been celebrating @yusaymon for a long time :-D

All my gratitude!! :D THANKSSSS!

Thanks for all of your initiative!

Thank you for all your help so far, @inquiringtimes! I admire your efforts for the Steemit community. Fantastic job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75