You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Biggest Thank You Yet from @briancourteau and @lynncoyle1

in #love6 years ago

So, the guy was like 50? :)

Raised first floor. Okay. Near the beach in case of flooding?

All is well. We've still got stairs to go up and down at our place. I'd prefer we didn't but so far we haven't taken the leap to move. We've got waaaaaaaaay too much stuff, so it will take at least a moving truck, but I think we can probably get some help from church and my two boys whenever that actually happens.

Sort:  

haha he was!

I can see the ocean, but in case of flooding, there's also a rooftop to escape to with a small soaker pool and a bbq...so it would be ok ;)

After my ex and I split up, we had a big house that was full! I feel your pain and understand your hesitation. Just make sure is and when the time comes, your boys don't help move like they help cook :)

They do all right with cooking. It's eating my food they've had a hard time with. However, last week's spaghetti was a hit, and today's beef kebabs were devoured, so I think I'm back on track.

Our boys and their families need to be settled somewhere before we move, probably. Right now we've got the youngest with us, and the oldest and his wife are waiting for him to finish his schooling, basically, and then go wherever he finds the job. Which could be back here, but who knows. At any rate, if they're here then maybe the move isn't such a big one and maybe we even stay here. I'd really rather be somewhere with more sunny days, but still rain and green. Not too many places like that where they don't charge an arm and a leg. :)

I understand completely! Leaving my two in Vancouver was a very difficult decision; thankfully, we had their support and understanding, but I do miss them terribly.

After being here in the sun for this long, I can no longer accept moving where there's winter or rain for half of the year anymore :)

Well, my grandparents wintered in Southern California or Arizona rather than hang around Bovill, Idaho. Did that for a long time until neither of them felt up to traveling anymore. Then my grandpa would still get up on the roof well into his 80s and shovel the snow off the roof. Funny thing was, snow was so high sometimes the snow didn't have far to fall. :)

haha that sounds like my grandfather. Old school...they don't make 'em like that anymore ;)

No, they don't. Of course, with all the modern contraptions and conveniences, I don't know that you have to. Which is sad, because then we start relying on all of that and we lose gumption and good old fashioned determination.

A permanent relocation from Bovill to virtually anywhere more southerly would have probably solved the problem, though. I know it was partly based on expenses, because they couldn't beat the space rent there, but Bovill's not that big to warrant much of any other reason. I know he had some friends, but he and Grandma would leave them six months out of the year, so even the friendships weren't enough to keep them in the snow during the winters. :)

So he had good ol' gumption, determination and intelligence! Friends will be there after the melt haha (yes, yes I know...I've opened the door for so many awful aging jokes...just ignore that. Regardless of age, friends will be there after the melt :)

Well, for all I know, they all could have left to. I think Bovill's population is less than 250, so maybe they just all packed it up for the winter.

I'll do better than ignore them. I'll even pretend I don't know what awful aging jokes you're talking about. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58148.81
ETH 2345.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35