Love: "The greatest refreshment" but only on one day of the year?

in #love5 years ago (edited)

Have you ever felt an intense feeling of deep affection for someone? Some have not I suppose, however for most of us the answer would be yes. If you're in the latter group, the yes group, then congratulations; You have felt love. That's right. Love. The word love can be applied to many things from one's love for a particular food or drink, a sport, band or musician to a book-genre or any number of things, but the love I refer to is the love of another person; Partner, child, family member or friend.

Last week I was vilified for not doing anything for my wife on Valentines Day, you know, that day when media, advertisers and corporations urge you to spend money to demonstrate your love and affection for a significant other. I was called un-romantic, cheap and boring by a couple of people and another informed me that I "mustn't love my wife very much" Legit. Someone actually said that to me.

When I asked what they had planned for their own partners I got the usual...Flowers, chocolates, teddy bears holding love hearts, dinner at a restaurant and the like. Sounds cool and if it works for them so be it. It's not our style though, my wife and I, I mean. We have never needed a reason to demonstrate love and respect towards each other and, indeed, we find it quite peculiar that people need a Day to prompt it. It's very strange.

I've made the comment in the past that "every day is Valentines Day in my household," however that's not quite true because we don't buy love-heart chocolates and teddy bears for each other every day of the year. What we do every day is show respect, courtesy and affection, on a daily basis, and those things sort of sum up to love I suppose right? I mean don't we all show respect, courtesy and affection to those we love?

The famous painter Pablo Picasso wrote: "Love is the greatest refreshment in life."

Hmm, it really is isn't it? I mean for those that have been in love and had that love returned surely you agree? What better state to be in than a state of love?; Reciprocated love.

We live in a strange world; A world where people's values and priorities are easily skewed. Sure, time changes many things, but love is a pretty constant thing is it not? Was love between a man and woman any different 300 years ago than now? Nope. It's the same, that same intense feeling of deep affection. And yet, the world needs Valentines Day to bring it all together? People need to purchase things to give it significance and value? Sorry, I don't subscribe; So, Valentines Day comes and goes in our household without a mention.

I don't have a problem with people who need to validate their love with gifts or fancy dinners; After all, my wife and I do that for each other sometimes too. I don't even have an issue with people who feel inclined to treat their loved one well on the one day of the year Hallmark say they should...Each to their own I suppose. I do have an issue for being judged for loving and respecting my wife the same on every day of the year and not just on Valentines Day though. Well, I guess in reality even that doesn't matter too much to me I suppose; Other people's opinions are often baseless and only voiced in an attempt to give themselves an increased feeling of value...If only they knew it had the opposite effect....And that I don't really give a shit about their opinions.

Love isn't an emotion to be restricted to just a single day, be it a wedding day, Valentines Day or any other. I mean does a parent love a child only on their birthday each year? When two people love each other respect, courtesy, care and affection should happen daily; Sure, people argue with each other but love should still exist within that argument, along with respect and courtesy.

I don't know for sure, however I think that those who allow one day, and a pile of purchased items, to define or demonstrate their love for another are definitely on the wrong track. Anyway, the day has come and gone for 2019 so all those people can get back to whatever they do on the 364 other days of the year when showing love and affection for their partners is not required.

Image source

Sort:  

Who said that to you 🤨

Valentine’s Day is dumb anyway 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just some people at work...No one important.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very wisdom insgight. They say, if u love the right lone, then everyday is the Valentine's day . WISH u happy all the year around.

Yes, I actually think I've heard that before somewhere. Can't for the life of me think where though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Valentines day is just a money grab by business.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello, my husband thinks the same as you ... and in fact, we celebrate is February 19. This date is special for us because February 19 was when we began our courtship in high school.
The important thing in a relationship is understanding, empathy and as you mention it, it is respect.

Have a great day!

Jesus, what kind of an asshole says that? I hope you laughed in his face.
I agree, the people who do go out of their way on V Day do so just cause they don't want to stand out from the crowd, for fear that they will be in a similar situation where someone will ask what they're doing and they will get judged.
Either that or their relationship isn't all they like to think and it needs such reassurance.
On the 14th, I went out with my folks to the mall (I'd promised to take my little brother to macdonalds as a thanks for test-reading my book) , you'd be surprised how many couples we saw there. A romantic evening with ole Macdonald. Classy, huh?

Posted using Partiko Android

Jealousy maybe? Hmm, just assholes.

Haha, oh yeah, a romantic Macca's dinner in Valentine's Day...Perfect. I could never do it...Ronald McDonald freaks me out. Close in general do...🤣

You could never donut, huh? Man, I sometimes donut and I love it. I mean, I'm not huge on donut-ing, but I guess it works sometimes...Still, to each his own. :P

Idiot. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Just another example of the impact of consumerism that pressures those to take action. I agree with you and while I will give a token to my family or go for a meal (not that day), I expect us to share each other every day of the year the same way. It makes it more meaningful to us as a family.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's a form of control; Buy this now, do that now, don't don't do that now...And people follow like sheep...Or lemmings. It sounds like we have the same values in as far as family goes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.424 which ranks you at #2205 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 343 contributions, your post is ranked at #99.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67698.91
ETH 3266.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64