The bittersweet teen years | #KarenTalks

in #love6 years ago (edited)

CMBYN1.png

[original pictures courtesy of Sony Pictures Classics]
También puedes leer este post en español.

At last this week, I bring you my personal front-runner for Best Movie (though I'm fairly certain it won't win that). Ever since I saw the trailer ages ago, because I like Armie Hammer, I wanted to see this film and when I heard it was so good it was being considered as a 'winner' in the awards season upon us, my interest peaked even higher.

Based on the book of the same title by André Aciman, Call Me By Your Name(directed by Luca Guadagnino) is a romantic coming-of-age film about seventeen-yearl-old Elio (played by Timothée Chalamet) and 25 year-old graduate student Oliver (Armie Hammer), who comes to stay in Elio's family countryside home in a little town in Italy, and how they live through one of the most magical, intimate summer love story I have seen on cinema.

I cannot express just how much this movie absolutely touched me, entertained me, left me in awe with its photography and costume design and musical score. Just from every angle this film is absolutely stunning, breath-taking.

The story, focused mainly on teenager-about-to-enter-adulthood Elio -who also happens to be finding himself sexually and understanding himself emotionally-, is incridible immersive and even though I'm not a boy I can't help but feel like this is how most male teenagers spent their lazy afternoons when they were seventeen. The way this movie shows the silly little details of being young and in love -with all the good-natured and sometimes consuming desire- is just on point, especially when delivered accurately by the very talente Chalamet, who completely steals the show.

No other film I saw last year was able to move me, to emotionally leave such a print on my brain, like this one did. It's not better than what I experienced with Moonlight in 2016, but it definitely comes close. The last monologue, spoken by a flawless Michael Stuhlbarg, who plays Elio's father, destroyed me and then put me back together a changed person.

This is a film that will without a doubt touch you, even if you can't quite relate with Elio in who he loves, the way he shows what it's like to be seventeen (all excitement and unsureness and a wish of being cooler than you actually are in front of older people) will surely hit home for you.

For me, this one has a:

CMBYN3.png

Feel free to follow me on Twitter and Instagram.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60132.86
ETH 3383.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51