I Love You

in #love7 years ago (edited)

Thing One made a breakthrough on his pinkie control last night and was able to sign "I love you" in ASL (American Sign Language) for the first time. This is a tricky sign - you have to keep your pinkie and pointer finger pointing out while you hold your middle two fingers down against your palm. I think it is trickier than the live long and prosper hand gesture :) It differs from the "horns" / heavy metal sign because the thumb is extended rather than thumb toward the palm. The "I love you" sign is a combination of the signs for "I", "L" and "Y" - you can read more here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ILY_sign

Image found on Google image search - this image is all over the place but I couldn't find an original source to credit

Thing One is super excited about this. He has been working on this sign for almost two years at this point, which is a LONG time for a 2 1/2 year old! The expression on his face while he is concentrating on moving his pinkie independently is the cutest thing - such fierce concentration. He made the breakthrough while eating in his high chair last night. I was doing dishes with my back turned to him. I heard Thing One say "I love you", so of course I said "I love you" back. Then he kept saying it. I turned around to see him making the sign and beaming with pride.

I just wanted to share this moment with you all. The picture isn't a great picture in terms of quality but I think it is priceless in terms of content. I am so proud and full of love. I love Thing One and I love you.

I love you.

Pass it on.

Sort:  

That is so neat!
What a clever little guy.

Yeah he is a smart cookie. Much love

He definitely is!!

Thanks @captainpearson! Following you - keep spreading the love :)

Hello @carlnash This Post touched my heart!!! I am a mother of an Autistic non verbal Child. I also communicate through Sign Language it's amazing how smart our Special babies are😉 "God Bless"

Glad to hear this post resonated with you @thesocialqueen :) Much love

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

This is great. Nice post on my feed to break up the political and crypto posts I'm usually flooded with.

Bringing love to Steemit one feed at a time :)

Yup. I think I'm going to be posting photos of my dog mixed in with my political rants. Ying & Yang and all that.

Yes! Do it! Looking forward to seeing your dog in my feed :)

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @carlgnash. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @carlgnash to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

This post has received a 12.63 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @carlgnash. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72