A Musician's Wedding

in #love7 years ago (edited)

Today @vincentchin and I braved the traffic and rain to attend a friend's wedding all the way in Klang. A 30km journey from Damansara Heights took us more than 1 hour. Insane. As our eta was showing 8.35pm, we were expecting the dinner to be 2-3 courses in. Little did we know the couple has yet to march in.

adult-2242163__340.jpg

Here's something that really puzzled me. The banquet was held in a school hall. There were a lot of tables. We got to know that we were assigned to Table 16. Here's the thing. I scanned around and located Table 17 (you know when you're late, you have that hope-to-quickly-find-your-seat-and-sit-down kind of feeling) but Table 16 was neither left nor right, neither front nor back of it! It was like Table 6. Then Table 9. There was no sequence. No pattern. Doubt even Sherlock Holmes could've solved that.

So the next best thing was to find our table based on another information that we know - a friend whom we saw his name on the list, sharing our table. After searching high and low, we finally located him. No table number on the table. :/ Well, I finally breathed a sigh of relief (remember the awkward feeling of standing up, feeling lost in a crowd because you're late?). To my horror, I saw 1 empty chair. Just 1! As we approached the dude was like, "Oh you guys are at this table? But our table is full! My wife's going to sit there!" You could imagine what was going through my mind!

wedding-table-1174142__340.jpg

We finally seated ourselves at a table with a few empty seats. Couldn't care less whose seats they belonged to. I just want to sit down! Then the next time I knew, it was freezing cold. The singer besides me described it was 'Winter Sonata'. And I hate cold. I had to invest in a thick comforter just to be in the same bedroom as my wife! Anyways, back to the banquet. The draft was finally settled halfway through the dinner.

So we musicians go about a wedding slightly different from the regular couples. Firstly would be the day it's held. Most of us perform for weddings, and those usually happen on a weekend. Other events as well. So to ensure that most of our guests would be able to turn up, which would naturally comprise of mainly musicians, it's better to conduct it on a weeknight. And tonight was a weeknight, hence the heavy traffic. :/

Another thing you could expect is, the couple would usually sing or perform as they march in. Here's a short clip of the beautiful bride singing a Cantonese love song as she was walking in.

Lastly, expect a lot of live music. Random jamming sessions. Usually, ​at a wedding, we're treated with a very professional band that has come prepared. Not for a musician's wedding. Expect bands to be formed right on the spot. Every musician at the risk of being called out to perform right there and then. Tonight we had some of the best musicians in town in attendance. It was spontaneous​. It was fun. It was definitely memorable.

people-1283970__340.jpg

Weddings are always beautiful. A celebration of love. A proclamation​ of lifelong dedication. And as we all know, it not the destination itself but instead the start of a wonderful marriage ahead. :)

all photos taken from Pixabay

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Great story, being a musician myself, I have special appreciation for it. Funny table number story, I just knew your buddy wouldn't be at his table... lol. Glad it was nice though. Cheers

thanks for dropping by! will definitely check out your stuff :)

Very welcome, and thank you :)

hahaha Sherlock Holmes :D

🕵️‍♂️

I went to a musicians wedding last year too. The music was performed by our junior in school on the French horn :)

wow! just the French horn alone or with the whole brass band?

I can't remember, 2 french horns I believe. The bride (my friend) at one point played as well. So 3 french horns and the groom sang. The only problem was that there was no mic for the musicians so we couldn't hear anything :(

wow! hahaha! a very interesting ensemble​. but I love the French horn. very warm tone :)

Thought you were part of the music band hahahaha

hahaha! sadly I'm not the best in town :(

Hahaha...did anyone came up to you and said you've taken their seats during the night?? XD

oh my gosh. come to think of it we never really cared. treated it as our own! hahaha! maybe the spot was vacanted because it was just way too cold

Hahahaha...well...at least another awkward moment avoided!! XD

Never been such a musical lively wedding before. And the bride is super courageous to do that. I walked down the aisle already "gabbra & kaku" let alone singing. What a wonderful sight. :)

hahaha! I remember seeing your wedding pictures in your second 'introduceyourself' post. the veil helped with the jitters right? ;) too bad guys don't have veil :p

Hahaha sorry I laughed at this post at first. But maybe not so funny when you took so long to reach and had no seats @calebleejl :) But glad u didn't miss the food haha. Courageous bride, really.

hahaha! no worries. I was laughing at myself as well. the food was alright. wedding food. you shouldn't expect much either ;)

The bride song is lovely

I can't imagine being in a musician's wedding but boy! I'm imagining the spontaneous scenes must be hella fun!

fun for the audience loh. hahaha! during @vincentchin's wedding it was like that as well. just ask @calvinlee

1 upvote for the bride!

hahaha! singing for them is like breathing liao

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41