My Experience With Love 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #love7 years ago

The Break-Up

images (12).jpg
Image Credit: TED

As much as I wanted our relationship to last for a long time, it seems fate had a different plan for us. After our Senior Secondary Certificate Examination (SSCE) in May, 2015, although we didn't really part on good terms, I had expected us to still keep in touch, but it seemed coupled with the way we parted, distance had come to haunt our relationship.

We were one of the few people in my set that were admitted into a tertiary institution the same year we graduated from secondary school. We both resided in Lagos, but she had been admitted into a school in a neighbouring state (Ogun state), while I was schooling in another region, probably on the opposite side of the map (Imo state). So, we kinda moved on, but I still had feelings for her. I would call once in a while, but she would sound like she wasn't delighted to hear from me. I began thinking the feeling was no longer mutual or she had probably found a campus boyfriend 😏.

I was eagerly awaiting the end of the academic session, so that I'd go back to Lagos and probably get back in touch with her. After about a year of academic stress, the session finally ended.

Back in Lagos, I visited some of my former classmates. During my interaction with one of them, he broke the news to me that the girl I so much wanted to get back in touch with already had a boyfriend. He told me how he jokingly asked her if she had a boyfriend and she affirmed it. I enquired from her, and she confirmed it; she added that she had a boyfriend since September 2015, the same year we graduated from secondary school. I was not so surprised at the news, because prior to then, I had a hunch that something of that sort would happen, but it was quite a shocker because I wasn't prepared for it.

I felt my heart shatter 💔 with the series of sad news that came to my ear. I was distraught for almost a year, virtually throughout my sophomore year in school, and it greatly affected my attitude towards people and academic work. Fortunately, I was able to recover from this period of distress.

I once loved and once vowed never to love again, but who knows what the future holds; we all hope for a better tomorrow.

What I Learned:

  • No one is too young to love. I often hear people say things like "what do you know about love at your age?" But now, I've realized that even the youngest of infants is capable of love. Do not discourage young people from loving, instead, encourage and teach them the right way to love (free from immorality). Remember, love dispels hate.
  • Do not be too quick to act on your feelings. Not every affection you have for someone is love.
  • Love really exists. Initially, I did not believe this, I thought it was a fantasy, until I had a taste of it.
  • Do not make a joke of someone's affection. You do not know the gravity of the havoc you might wreak.

What did you learn from this story? Share it in the comments box.

In case you missed the first episode of this series, check it out here:
My Experience With Love

Sort:  

Don't be discouraged, it's part of life. Pick up yourself and move forward, better things lie ahead... And don't be afraid to love again!

Congratulations @amylase! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46