My Experience With Love

in #love7 years ago (edited)

artistic-blossom-bright-clouds.jpg
Image Credit: Pexels

The Beginning

You may be wondering the reason for such a post on Steemit. Well, I don't also have an answer to that; I only hope you enjoy the read, and probably learn something from it. As much as I want you to enjoy this piece, I also don't want to bore you with a long, rather personal, probably boring story, so, I’ll either make this as short as possible or make it a two or three-episode series.

My second year in senior secondary school was like a turnover period for me; that was when it all started. There was a newcomer in class; she joined us in first term. As is normal with newcomers, she was gentle and reserved, and as is customary with old students, some tried to make friends with her, but she didn't seem too friendly. She didn't really catch my fancy, though, because she was kinda ugly. Ab initio, she majorly interacted with some of the girls in her class, but as the days went by and her newbie status diminished, she extended her interaction to some of the boys in her class and a few others in mine; I was in science class and she was in commercial/art class. I didn't really like her because she was a bit too reserved, and particularly hostile to me, plus I am not the ‘gum body’ type of person, if you know what I mean 😉.

Surprisingly, after nearly a year of disdain, I started feeling an attraction towards her. To grow from disdain to such attraction that I felt was like I was blinded before then, or I had just been blinded. As the days passed, the attraction grew into a strange affection for her that I could not fathom. At that point, I could not believe what was happening, because hitherto that period, I did not believe in lovey-dovey stuffs; I felt it was quite immature and unrealistic to claim to have feelings for someone.

The Revelation

images (9).jpg
Image Credit: Odyssey

At a point, I could not contain my feelings for her anymore. I just had to let it out, but "what would be the comparatively best method and medium?", I wondered. "Should I just walk up to her and tell her?
Or should I ask her to see me in camera, so that her suspicion of something strange would help reduce the tension on me?
Won't it be less dignifying to even let her know at all? Even if I summoned enough courage to tell her, how would I start?"; these and many other questions lingered in my mind as I approached the deciding moment.

At last, I made a decision - I realized the best method. The non-physical way seemed the easiest. 2go was a social media platform popular especially among students then; it was my choice of medium.

images (8).jpg
Image Credit: lilpickmeup.com

I started off by asking her if she had ever loved someone to an extent that she could do anything to make the person happy; she replied with a 'no'. Then, I told her I was in the situation I had described to her. She inquired about the person, and that was when the revelation happened, though it came with some tricks. Immediately after the revelation, she went offline. About two hours later, she came back online and told me she didn't believe in love. On hearing this, I was a bit disheartened, but I had a glimmer of hope that she would eventually change her mind.

As days went by, we chatted casually but never spoke about the revelation. Eventually, she reciprocated what I said to her; I was kinda happy that the feeling had probably become mutual. On several occasions like our birthdays and Valentine's Day, we exchanged gifts. I relished the moments we shared the best way I could, oblivious that the end of it was near.
continue reading

Sort:  

Congratulations @amylase! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @amylase! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60855.77
ETH 2668.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47