Slow. Ship. 💥🛳 | how to freeze motion by allowing a longer time for the sensor to catch the light |

in #longexposurephotography7 years ago (edited)

Slow. Ship.


After Today's written post went viral and I got a staggering amount of new followers (over 20) I felt obligated do a post to welcome them, instead of going to bed early.

This cruise-ship is the biggest one that ever got to enter the Amsterdam harbor.🛥 I was standing there talking to some friends when I saw the enormous thing approach. I quickly fetched the tripod from my back and started setting up my camera for along exposure shot 📸


LogoLicious_20180114_231737.jpg

Amsterdam, het ij, Shot with my favorite 50mm Canon FD lens at 11.0 for 15 seconds on my Sony A7II


I love the magic of long exposures, it enables you catch a trail of light. In a way I feel it's the same a a movie, since you are cathcing light over time. Not on 24 frames per second, but on just 1. 🎥

I love how sharp this piece turned out to be. I invite you to click the image in order to see it full screen. ☺


PSX_20171229_160240-02.jpeg


As always thanks for your time, I hope you enjoyed this. Feedback is always appreciated!

"Emotions are there to be expressed, not to be suppressed and bottled up. I do photography in order to take my mind away from the dilemma's I encounter during my medical internships."

thi-js. Out.

Up-vote, re-steem and follow

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #longexposurephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Monday.

You have earned 5.90 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 3/5
Multiplier: 1.18
Server time: 23:40:32
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 437.01/800.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 60
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Very nice picture

This is beautiful

Amazing shot, keep it up. Greetings to Amsterdam :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50