Omega Centauri

ngc5139_108x8sec-smaller.jpg

Please Click for larger Version

Omega Centauri image made by the author was made using a Celestron C14 using a Hyperstar and a QHY183c camera. 108 images of 8 second exposures were stacked for this image.

Omega Centauri (NGC 5139): A massive cluster of perhaps as many as 10,000,000 stars clumped together in a formation known as a globular star cluster. Our Milky Way is surrounded by a swarm of about 150 of these clusters, with Omega Centauri being the largest. Some people have postulated that it may actually be a remnant core of a dwarf satellite galaxy that was absorbed by the Milky Way. Although 16,000 light years distant Omega Centauri can be easily seen with the naked eye from a dark rural location.

Sort:  

This is lovely! I've always wanted to try astro-photography!

Thank you, I try my best!

very interesting. thanks for sharing.

That picture has such a huge amount of discrete visible stars. The scale of the universe is incredible. Thanks for sharing!

That's pretty awesome. I've done some astrophotography previously , but I hadn't realized you can get that kind of quality with such short subs.

Just curious though , is there an ISO setting for that camera and if so what ISO do you use for 8 sec subs?

Nice work :)

Thank you @betelzeus! The cameras now have very low readout noise, so you can get away with much shorter exposures - I hate messing around with autoguiders, and would rather fill up my harddrive with images!

There is a gain setting on the camera, but no ISO setting. I will tend to use the lowest gain practical so as to preserve as much of the dynamic range of the image (i.e the star colors).

I only have the most entry level telescope, and I ended up using the tracking system to have my camera mounted on the back. This is the result (the blob is the omega centauri):

omega_zoom.jpg

I wish I have a telescope like yours.

You did well, you can see Omega Centauri resolved into stars.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #longexposurephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Monday.

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 12:13:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 90.57/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 1
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

oww wow wonderful !!! I'm in love with stars , especially with shooting stars. This year I was confronted so often with the milky way, unfortunately I heard too late about it , so I couldnt see it myself.. but I will in future ! :=)
without promoting (as the post is not from me) I would like to show you this picture of milky way my friend captured .. It is grandious, showing the milky way from the sahara deserts !!

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58140.63
ETH 3077.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33