Shooting Fireworks / Longexposure Photography

Hello fellow Steemians,

new years eve was a long time ago. But why shouldn`t  share my excperiences while shooting it. It was my first time shooting fireworks so I didn't get a lot of good shots but I'm happy with the results. 

Setup: 

For longexposures it is important that you use a tripod. A normal person can only hold a camera for so long till the picture gets blurry. So a tripod is key to get sharp pictures when doing longexposures. Another gadget that I use is a remote so i can set my camera to bulb and control the shutter speed via the remote. It really reduces the shake on your camera when you press the shutter. If you don't have a remote for your camera you can set a timer with your camera which also reduces the camera shake. 

Settings: 

I didn't want to pay too much attention to take pictures since I wanted to enjoy the moment without thinking too much about capturing the it with my camera. My solution was that I put my setup near me and set it up to take 50sec exposures for the next hour. I got a few times up and changed the framing and check the settings but I wasn't busy all the time taking pictures. I used my fuji xc 16-50mm and with a focal length of 50mm. I chose my aperature to be narrow(f./22) so i every firework looked sharp. The iso was set to 400 to reduce the noise and to let me take a longer exposure since I wanted to get as many fireworks as possible on my picture

Thoughts: 

In my opinion the shots are not as clear as I wanted. Next time I'll try to get them sharper next time. It was a little foggy that night as the night progressed it got more and more hazey because of the fireworks. The results are not perfect but I'm pleased with them. I hope that I will get some better shots next year. 


Keep your eyes open!

@laumi



Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 00:16:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 30.80/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Practice makes perfect. I enjoy taking long exposures too. I like how you can freeze light for a few more seconds with beautiful results. Your second photo has an outer space vibe to it the way I look at it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51