Sublime Sunday - Chasing Waterfalls

Pardon me for the shameless reference to an old TLC song, but I went chasing waterfalls this weekend. After my run this morning, I went back out with my Sony A7ii to a trail I haven’t been on for a couple of years. I thought with the historic floods this summer along the Patapsco River and the heavy rains yesterday, there was a good opportunity for some nice long exposure water shots along the Sawmill Branch trail. The creek runs downhill for a mile towards the Patapsco River and has always been a very rocky little tributary. What I didn’t expect was that the severe flooding we experienced this summer had carved out this creek down to bedrock, leaving a number of new cascades and waterfalls. Here are a couple that turned out pretty well.

This one wasn’t the largest, but I like the staircase like cascade of water making its way through the rocks. The branch or root in the water added some visual interest and some rich color to the shot.

61BB01D4-12C8-478F-B2C0-DFD415A8EC6E.jpeg

This one was a small little cascade coming off the bank of the creek. I originally shot a larger panorama of several shots,but ultimately cropped it down to this detail. The interest of the reddish brown leaves scattered through the shot were the deciding factor for cropping this shot down.

19B83D32-6AD6-410B-ABC9-98D19624E3E3.jpeg

Sometimes when I’m switching back and forth between the settings I use for long exposure and regular shots, I forget which mode I’m in and ending up with a handheld long exposure that is going to be blurry. That was the case with the shot below, but I decided to gradually move the camera up in the scene to see what the blurred picture would look like. There is a technique in photography called ICM or “Intententional Camera Movement” that I’d always wanted to try and this was my result.

What do you think about the result? At the very least, I think it qualifies as a #funkyedits shot.

FADEBEBD-C122-4FB1-81B4-7AE00AE998D8.jpeg

And the final shot represents the biggest change in this little creek since my last visit. This waterfall did not exist before this summer’s historic flooding carved the creek down to bedrock. I guess you have to look for the sliver lining to every dark cloud.

1341904B-D510-42B5-B61C-3535EBF886CC.jpeg

This is my contribution to @juliank’s #longexposurephotography #photocontest. Below are the daily themes for the photo contests.

Monday: #foodphotography and #animalphotography
Tuesday: #landscapephotography and #cityscapephotography
Wednesday: #architecturalphotography and #vehiclephotography
Thursday: #macrophotography and #colourfulphotography
Friday: #streetphotography and #portraitphotography
Saturday: #sportsphotography and #smartphonephotography
Sunday: #goldenhourphotography and #longexposurephotography

CC296160-5EC2-44E3-B20D-FD9F413CBCA7.jpeg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of November 26 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Oh, such a majestic flow in the images of your post. One reason I love long-distance running is being a part, breathing and living beautiful sceneries.

Hey, @xcountrytravelers...I suggest you check up this post and make a trip out in the wild!

I couldn’t agree more. Running and hiking in nature is very therapeutic.

You' ve been selected always in support of good work

Largo mensajes.jpg

Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.
- Ryunosuke Satoro.

Do not forget to use our tag #phototalent & #talentclub

You can see our daily report in this link

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Fantastic chasing waterfalls photography.

amazing clarity and color!

I miss mountain streams and waterfalls SO much. These photos brought a tear to my eyes! Such gorgeous photos. Thank you for sharing! I love how you captured the movement of the water in your pictures. Just wow!

I’m happy that you enjoyed them! I love finding nature’s little surprises when I’m out hiking.

Lovely edits. i really like long exposure water photos but don’t have any luck with it.

Thanks. The Sony cameras make it pretty easy. I can’t claim any special skills.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98