LongExposurePhotography - Icy Falls

Icy Falls.jpg

Cold in winter, the Ithaca Falls take on an eerie chill. Take a look at this shot of the same falls, with less zoom, and read the tale of making the images. I thought this shot was perfect for the #longexposurephotography Challenge, by @juliank @photocontests

Monday: foodphotography and animalphotography
Tuesday: landscapephotography and cityscapephotography
Wednesday: architecturalphotography and vehiclephotography
Thursday: macrophotography and colourfulphotography
Friday: streetphotography and portraitphotography
Saturday: sportsphotography and smartphonephotography
Sunday: goldenhourphotography and longexposurephotography

More of My Photocontests

Geeky Camera Stuff:
Nikon d7000, 85mm, f6.3, 4 seconds, Neutral Density Filter, Tripod

!steemitworldmap 42.452940 lat -76.492646 long Icy Falls d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bluefinstudios
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=longexposurephotography-icy-falls


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #longexposurephotography

You have earned 6.00 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.20
Server time: 17:49:44
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1232.33/1600.00
Total Photos: 86
Total comments: 56
Total contest wins: 13
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Haven't figured out what it makes me feel yet but it's amazing. Cool that you can see, what?, rocks behind the water on the lower right. I think I need to find a lighter weight tripod to haul around with me. I just wing it most of the time. What do you do when you see a shot that you'd like to do a certain way but don't have a tripod?

Couple of tricks I find:

One, shoot from the ground (or a rock). Besides being stable, the ground also has the advantage of being a different viewpoint than most images people make: Added Drama!
Any stable surface works.

That said, I sometimes will improvise. AND use myself.
Sit, cross legged, and do the shot on your thigh. Lean with one hand down on the ground.
Sit, knees up, do the shot with camera balanced on knee. Only works for relatively short, Long exposure. Second or so. USE your remote trigger in the hand NOT leaning on the ground. They're cheap. WELL worth the $10-20 spent.

Anything over 2 or 3 seconds really does catch movement, no matter how still you think you are.
In this case, I can remove the Neutral Density filter, set the Shutter speed to 1/10th second, or so, and see what happens. Usually, though, there's a branch to put the camera on, or a large rock, etc. Since most of my long exposure is waterfalls.

BTW, here's my favorite tip: Don't forget your tripod.
I've made more than one hike to a falls location, without tripod.
Stable Long Exposure tips earned the painful way.

Thanks @bluefinstudios! I love new ideas to try and you've given me some good ones. As for forgetting my tripod.... I have a deteriorating back condition so each time I go out I have to decide how much I can carry. This is why I decided on my mirror less Olympus OMD camera. They are so much lighter. What do you think of those mono pods? My budget is tight so I haven't looked at getting one because I can't understand how you could hold something and get a decent long exposure? Any thoughts?

Actually, I have a Monopod.
I use it on the beach some times, and sometimes in the woods.
It can get stuck into mud/between rocks, into a briar bramble, etc and is ok steady for Long Exposure. Nothing like 10 seconds, or 30 seconds, etc, but for a second? or 4? Sure.
I jsut don't use it handheld for long exposure.

One thing I do is shoot birds all the time. It's perfect for birding, when I am not in the mood for the heavier tripod. It's great for birds that are in flight, etc.

Tough for low light. That's when the steady tripod comes in handy.

All of these problems would go away, as soon as someone with lots of Voting Power Upvotes me to $1600. There's a really nice Carbon fiber tripod that's ULTRA low weight.
Hey, you don't happen to have $1600 USD lying around looking for somewhere to go, do you?

You got a 1.99% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @bluefinstudios!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60745.98
ETH 2342.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52