I went to the London Cryptocurrency Show and it was awesome!

in #londoncryptocurrencyshow6 years ago (edited)

Just wow. I didn't know what to expect at the London Cryptocurrency Show, but I will tell you what I have found. And I liked it.
Stars of the Show
Stars of the Show

Preparation

I did the usual stuff: printed tickets, prepared my outfit and baked 10 kilograms of bread.
bread
From left:
Simple rye bread
Vermont wheat-rye sourdough
Wheat-rye sourdough with seeds
All baked on Friday for the show :)

Arrival

Going through the hotel was like getting through a maze: lift up, left, the door ahead, round the stairs, stairs down, stairs down again, in the queue, through the door into the Steem corner. I did the route a couple times and still haven't worked out a simpler way. Oh well.

Promotional materials
Promotional materials

The stall

at the booth
At the booth

Stephen (@stephenkendal) has made very impressive TV tables. What I loved about the stand is that it was mainly empty - it gave a lot of space to meet and talk. What I loved even more he that it wasn't enough room, so we ended up having charts everywhere around. Promo Steem guys talked to many many people including businesses, showing how they can benefit from our blockchain.

Discussions at the booth
Discussions at the booth

What was really really really great was that I could meet other Steemians and listen to all the amazing chats: and he said, and she said, and I think, and we should, and here, have some bread, and oh! I read your post yesterday!

At the booth
At the booth

And then we had a chance to reach out to others and share our perspective. What I publish, and why, and why Steem, and here's my login, and so on.

Presentation

Dylan (@anarchotech) has made sure everything ran smoothly. Quick introduction, then Ilana (@techslut) presented Utopian, Phil (@dunsky) talked about eSteem (there is a desktop app they are working on), guys from @SteemPress presented their solution, Dylan filled in for Joseph (@ejemai) to talk about STACH. Then Alla (@Allasyummyfood) presented her experience as a blogger and as a Steemit blogger (wow, there's so much left to learn), and to close it of, @mrs.steemit presented her new product, Appic, which may be one of the first big solutions adopting Steem Media Tokens for appreciation and transferring value.

Ivar and Alla
Ivar and Alla

mrs.steemit
@mrs.steemit

Alla
Alla

Dylan
Dylan

Phil
Phil

SteemPress guys
SteemPress guys

Ilana
Ilana

SteemPress guys, Alla, Dylan and Ilana
SteemPress guys, Alla, Dylan and Ilana

Other stalls

MiningFarm booth
MiningFarm booth
There were investors, lawyers, coin makers, exchanges etc. Out of all I will just shout out a warm hi to guys at MiningFarm, offering solutions to miners. They were the only people out there to bring an actual mining rig in there, and it resonated well with the geeky bit of my heart.

MiningFarm booth
MiningFarm booth

Non Steem presentations
Non Steem presentations

Non Steem presentations
Non Steem presentations

Summary

I'd like to say hi to the people I met, especially: @Dannyshine, @Buttpacker, @Roxane, @Veritanuda, guys at Hello uni, @Mrs.steemit, @Guidelo, @Techslut, @Anarchotech, @Allasyummyfood, @marczanto, @stephenkendal
I apologise to those I haven't mentioned. You're awesome as well!
My participation was a total success, meaning I didn't have to carry any of the bread back! And as an extra, I will get to put more pins on my bread travel map!

Thank you to everyone. I like Steemit a little bit more now :)

Thank you for your interest and votes. Follow me for mainly bread related posts

Sort:  

Stephen Kendal really did a great job with that Steemit booth! Btw, those rye breads look delicious.

its seems to be very good that your tour to london has a sucessfull tour .and through tha type of workshop a person casn groom itself .amaizing part is that you visted different stallsrelated to technologies...happy for you dear

Congratulations @breadcentric.
Best regards from me @mukhtar.juned steemians from Indonesia.

Thank you so much for the bread and it was lovely to meet you!!!

Thanks! Hope you like it :)
It was lovely meeting you as well!

London Cryptocurrency Show is amazing lot more concepts from these guys its very intresting sir.do we have video of this speech sir.

Yup, was an informative meet. I have much better understanding of the platform now and how it all works. Confirms my first instinct in liking what Steemit was doing when I first signed up.

Now all I need to do it buckle down and start investigating the API's and stuff ;)

Good chat, thanks! Was interested to learn more about the way Steemit works with regards to witness and community moderation and how to avoid disruptive behaviour. Fascinating to know about your back story too. As I do happen to like bread for sure I am following you now and will have to scroll back and see what I missed.

Till next time!

Thanks for a lovely chat and see you at some next meeting perhaps :)

Sure, no worries. London is a big place but it is not so big people don't bump into each other.

I'll never forget coming down from Uni once on a scavenger hunt and meeting a friend from high school coming down on the escalator when I was going up. It turned into a bit of a farce me running up the escalator only to run down the other one.

Just another one of those London tales.

That really looks like a blast! Such a learning engagement and you get to meet people in real life and make friends with new ones as well. Now you know they are real :D Lots of different stalls too.

I wonder who ate most of the bread lol!

I'm waiting for confessions :P

They look so good that if they taste as good as they look nobody would confess for sure. I know I wouldn't :D

If nobody does, I won't make it next time :P

Oh no. I hope somebody will and hope you will find out :D Follow the bread crumbs :D

Będzie jakaś relacja dla Polaków? :)

Postaram się. Teraz muszę odblokować ten drugi blog.

Hi - good to meet you on Saturday. Thanks for the great write up of the event and also the great photos. I wanted to let you know that your bread travelled to Yorkshire and was amazing with both butter and peanut butter! Here is a photo:

Bread.jpg

Brilliant, glad you liked it. I'm putting Yorkshire on my map :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10