Can We Put an End to World Hunger?

in #livesustainably6 years ago (edited)

The latest competition from @livesustainably is Zero Hunger. The question asked is “How would you go about solving the hunger problems in our world?”

neglected-horse-810745_640.jpg
Photo source

I think it's pretty clear by now that the world produces more than enough to feed its current population, so lack of food is not the cause of people going hungry. When Argentina went into economic collapse, people were dying of hunger, yet they were still producing as much food as they always had. So hunger there isn't being caused by the lack of food, but by the lack of ability to purchase food.

Africa has the potential to feed its own population, but there are lots of different reasons why it's currently not; drought, exports, population, war and even trade restrictions between countries. I once heard someone say that if we refused to buy food from countries where people are starving, then they would have enough to go around to stop them going hungry. However, although it might help, the reason that producers sell their food abroad is because they often aren't able to sell it at home. Whether the foods stays in the country or not, there are still those who can't afford to buy it or can't get to it due to restrictions.

So can we stop world hunger? Not individually. It needs to be dealt with at the source. For every area that has people going hungry, there will be different causes and therefore different solutions and these can only be dealt with in situ. It's not enough to just send food occasionally, solutions need to be found to raise them out of these situations and that can only be done by those there. Education of some form often plays a part in it. Think of that old proverb: “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day, teach him to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.” The education needed will again depend on the situation.

As the world becomes more accessible to us all with sites like Steemit, I think we have more and more opportunity to help with projects that are tackling hunger at its source. @azizbd has created @SchoolForSDG4, a project which not only offers education to under privileged children, but is also feeding them when funds allow. @sircork has also set up his charity @YouAreHOPE on the Steem blockchain. Through this he reaches out to help with projects all over the world. So just via steemit, we can already start to help these projects that are trying to sort out poverty at the source and the funds can go direct to the sources without the worry that some will get filtered off along the way.

So what would I personally do about world hunger? I'm not in a location where I can do anything personally, but I can reach out to others who are trying to do something about it where they are and try to assist them. Through my account @life-relearnt I've already started to do some fundraising for @SchoolForSDG4 and I'm not the only one. We hope to see their weekly fruit and monthly meal programme grow so that they can offer it more often. Education and working your way out of poverty go hand in hand.

With @YouAreHOPE (Help, Opportunity, Purpose, Empowerment) @sircork is way ahead of me, networking with people in different countries who are making a difference where they are. This is definitely next on my list to start fundraising for when @life-relearnt actually gets off the ground. He is achieving so much in directing funds where they can do the most good.

In the meantime I'll continue to avoid food wastage in my own home and continue learning how to grow my own food while sharing what I learn with others. I would also like to share with this post and donate the liquid SBD earnt to one or both of the above mentioned charities.


You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook


Join us at the Online Homesteading Community

IMG_20180111_135541.jpg

Sort:  

Zero Hunger is 2nd Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) among 17 SDGs introduced by United Nations. I really a great supporter of all 17 goals and I like to create awareness about it through my blog post and my activities. What did I do as an individual ?

My lunch program and fruits arrangement program is a contribution to Zero Hunger ( SDG 1) .
Better Education for slum children contribute to "Quality Education " ( SDG4 )

Helping Women by training and give them an opportunity to sell their products contribute to Gender equality and zero poverty ( SDG 5 and SDG 1 accordingly). It is my belief that I contribute these fields and I involved you and thousands of supporters who support @SchoolForSDG4 and @WomenEmpowerment projects. I wish to contribute to autism a lot in future and I know I will able to support them if I can continue my career in social activities. May God accept my prayers. Thanks for your wish to support people who are hungry and your plan about @SchoolForSDG4 and @YouAreHope . I really appricate your passion about farming chikens and it looks they are part of your family. I am also running a farm with help of my brother and thinking to invest in Turkey chickens. It is sure that I got some motivation from your Instagram and youtube videos. :)

Now I understand what the SDG4 stands for! That's fantastic that the SDGs can be a motivator for people to take on challenges to meet these development goals. You've taken on so much and are such an inspiration. Leaders bring in the followers who can help support them, but we need the leaders to start making the changes where they are needed.

Thank you for saying that what I post has helped. It gives me the motivation to carry on sharing.

I agree that hunger is usually not from an overall lack of food. There are almost always political or economic issues underlying it.

A good alternative to have a post on the Steemit platform seeking for an honest people to help you out with that big humanity project to help and to improve the children..Thanks for an educative information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67705.30
ETH 3767.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73