You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sustainably Living - Reusing or Upcycling

I love saving cardboard toilet roll tubes for spinning yarn. When I teach others, I show them how to wind their yarn onto cardboard tubes before plying. Especially for beginners, its a great alternative to making or buying fancy tools. I can't wait to see your post on planting seeds!

Sort:  

Oh wow, I never thought of that!

I received some Hard Carders as a gift and have a fleece waiting to be washed in the warmer weather ready to start making my own yarn for the first time. A neighbour has a spinning wheel too!

That is a great help and idea!

I have just posted my plans for my 2018 Container Vegetable Garden and will be doing a seed post later on tonight/tomorrow!

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@pumpkinsandcats/the-container-veggie-patch-with-pumpkinsandcats-the-2018-plan-and-overview

Ooooh, congratulations! What type of fleece? I do a live stream where I teach spinning and answer questions. You are most welcome to drop by any time:

That's really cool, I will do. It's from a Badger Sheep that's all I know about its original owner Baa Baa!!

Thank You

Badger Face Welsh Mountain, maybe? If so, you've got a very interesting first fleece.

Yes thats them. My work colleague raises them quite a rare breed I think.

Interesting good or interesting bad ha ha! I like a challange!

It is a good, medium coarse wool and may contain a bit of kemp. It may be a bit of a challenge. It may feel like its got some grab and then the fibers will slide right past each other. Great for outerwear.

Thank you! So informative I think I will be in contact when I get around to doing this in spring =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65316.48
ETH 2593.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65